bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
09 April 2007

The awesomest photo of Kurt EVER
Are y'all totally sick of photos of Kurt yet??

Well, too damn bad because he emailed me the awesomest photo that I think has ever been taken of him.

I give you Kurt:

My absolute favoritest photo of my husband EVER

Of course, I wish the quality of the photo itself were a wee bit better, but this photo absolutely captures Kurt as a whole. He's not actually looking at the camera, which makes sense because he usually doesn't seem to enjoy having his photo taken. You can see a tiny little smile on his face, which is lovely because he usually doesn't smile for photos. He never learned how! He will stretch out his mouth in a simulation of a smile, but it usually ends of looking like a grimace. And you can see in this photo how his eyes crinkle up when he smiles!

Isn't he just adorable???

When this email was at the top of my inbox, just enough of this photo peeked out of the message pane that I saw his face every time I opened Outlook Express.

Geez, I miss him.

Oh, and you see that necklace?? That was my wedding present to him! Well, not that particular one. The real one got broken. This one is a replacement that was actually a Father's Day present last year. This version is a mariner's link (because he's a sailor -- get it??) necklace, and the purpose of it is to hold his wedding ring when he's doing stuff that requires taking his ring off.

His ring is white gold too, so it matches the sterling silver of the necklace. And no, we do not have matching wedding rings. Mine are yellow gold and have lots of stones. His is plain and white gold. But we're still married. I have the paper to prove it!

He's only ever taken the necklace off when he was promoted to Chief last year. The group of newbie Chiefs have to wear all the same thing every time they do something together (which is practically all the time for the six-week initiation period), and if one person wears a necklace ALL the guys have to wear the same one. The only exceptions to the rule is your wedding ring and a watch. So I held onto his necklace for those six weeks, and as soon as he was a full Chief I put it back around his neck.

Anyhoo, I hope you all had a great Easter!! I ended up going over to my friends' home about an hour early. I'd gone to Albertson's earlier in the day to buy some flowers as a hostess gift, which they really appreciated. Grace and the daughter S went outside and played for about 20 minutes before it clouded over and began to rain. It rained for the rest of the afternoon and throughout the evening! The weather had been so gorgeous in the morning and early afternoon too. I took a ton of Easter photos (if you're interested, click HERE; you will have to scroll down to see the pretty Easter photos) in the early afternoon when the sun was out. My neighbors, the same ones who invited me over to dinner, had come over in the early morning to "hide" Easter eggs in my front yard, so I took Grace outside to find them. We used the Easter bucket she made in art class too!

Dinner was very yummy -- ham, potatoes au gratin, green bean casserole, and rolls. For dessert we had Jello Easter eggs, a carrot cake in the shape of a lamb, and ice cream! Definitely a feast! I'm not terribly a huge fan of ham, but the one they cooked was pretty good. Very tender and sweet. I much prefer a honey ham.

The wife had made the green bean casserole, only she'd made a small error which caused it to be very soupy. What made it funny is she kept telling her husband, "Errors like these are why I don't cook!!" Her husband is a VERY good cook. He's one of those guys that pokes his head into the fridge, grabs a little bit of this and a wee bit of that, throws it all together, and BAM! He's serving a meal worthy of a five-star restaurant.

One day when I was over there, I was so busy talking to the wife I didn't notice the husband was cooking. All of a sudden, he presents me with a bowl of pasta, broccoli, shaved parmesan, and prosciutto that he'd just "whipped" up. I couldn't tell you what seasoning he'd used, but it was AMAZINGLY good.

So a great time was had by all yesterday, and we stuffed ourselves silly. Grace, as usual, out-ate the other two little girls there, a first-grader and a second-grader. She also had a blast playing with the big girls. At one point, they convinced her to take her dress off and play dress-up with them. Grace ended up looking like a cross between a ballerina and a cheerleader. It was pretty funny.

We tuckered her out so much she was sleeping weird!!!

Grace was so tuckered out from Easter...



previous * next