bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
18 March 2007

Motivated to clean up
I have figured out how to get privacy when I need to use the bathroom or when I get dressed.

For whatever reason, I don't like Grace in the room when I'm getting dressed. You'd think I wouldn't care, seeing as I take a shower with her, but for some reason it does bother me.

And of course, there are some times in the restroom where I need my privacy, if you get my drift.

The secret???

All I have to do is close the door.

I don't know why it works, but it does. If I forget to close the door (most of the time when I go to the bathroom I don't close the door), and Grace follows me in, all I have to do is ask her to shut the door and she leaves. It's amazing. I think she's figuring out the notion of privacy. She also likes to have some privacy of her own, so sometimes she goes into her room and shuts the door as well.

It's so neat to watch her figure stuff out like that.

Speaking of children, a good friend of mine that I have known for a zillion years, ever since we went to band camp together ("One time, at band camp...!") when we were 12, gave birth to a son last week. This is her second child; she and her husband also have a nearly 3-year-old daughter. I'm totally stoked for her, of course.

And you probably know my best friend (aka Myrtle the Fertile Turtle) is pregger too. Keep your fingers crossed for a boy for her; between us we have three girls, and girls are starting to get boring. *wink*

But dammit, I want another child! This whole Navy thing is starting to suck the big one. I can't get pregnant without my husband being home.

Well, I could, but I'm sure it wouldn't do my marriage any good. Kurt would be rather put out with me.

I just thought of something too. If Kurt had gotten home in May, and I'd gotten pregnant right away, I could have had a baby near my birthday, which is something I would love to do. Now that he's extended another month, there is just no way.

*sigh*

Ah well. Such is life.

Today I got so motivated it's scary. I cleaned out my cupboard where I store glasses and plates and that kind of thing. There are three shelves in this cupboard, but I can only easily reach the lower two, as I am rather vertically challenged. So I cleared off some major crap off the middle shelf and relocated it to the top shelf since I don't use it much. I also chucked out some goofy water bottles (cheap from Target last year) that I had bought for Grace but hadn't worked out. Just rearranging things gave me more room for another coffee mug, so I got out this funny Navy mug we'd gotten from my in-laws, I think it was.

Then I cleared off the top of the fridge in the kitchen. I'd been irritated for quite some time as to how terrible it looked having a zillion things piled up on top of the fridge, but I hadn't gotten the motivation to do anything about it. For some weird reason I had a lunch box on top of the fridge; I think it was from when the ship was in the shipyard wayyyyyyyy back before I had Grace, and the galley on the ship was closed. That meant Kurt had to take his lunch to work every day, and when he had duty, he also had to take his dinner and the next morning's breakfast.

I think three years is long enough for an unused lunchbox to sit on top of a fridge.

I also relocated some of Grace's plates to the top of the fridge in the garage. That meant that I had to clean off the top of THAT fridge as well! That was easier because I just had a lot of crap up there that was completely unorganized. It's easiest for me to have stuff on top of that fridge because it's the only area of the garage that is easy to reach without actually going into the garage. It's cold out there! I also chucked out a ton of bottle liners that were left over from when Grace was using a bottle. No use keeping them.

Finally I got both fridges all organized and pretty, and the fridge in the kitchen is pretty much empty now! I am so proud of myself. But it was nasty what was on top of the fridge. Ewwww. I really ought to clean up there more often.

I also went into the bathroom and cleaned off the cupboard that is above the toilet. This family stores things EVERYWHERE. We're not the minimalistic type; we have crap on nearly every flat surface.

Guess what was on top of the cupboard??? More toothbrush heads for my Sonicare toothbrush.

Grrrrrrrr.

I knew we had bought them, and they ain't cheap! At Costco, which is the cheapest place to get them, they're $30 for three. I knew we had some, but I had NO CLUE where they were. And being as vertically challenged as I am, I couldn't see them on top of the cupboard either.

Guess who put them there??

This is why a person should never marry a spouse a full foot taller than she is.

So now I have four extra toothbrush heads. That'll last Kurt and me another two years. I am glad I found them, though, although I'm sure I would have found them in the move. I'm so looking forward to the move so I can find things I've lost! I don't know what I am going to do when Kurt retires and we stop moving. I will never find anything ever again!!




previous * next