bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
27 February 2007

An utter lack of undies
First things first: My husband is in Florida!! YAY!! This means he can call me whenever he has a free moment, and we can chat as long as we like. For free, even!!

That is, if he finds his cell phone charger... grrr. He had the darn thing in San Diego. I don't know how he can lose something on a ship that he's been confined to for the last three months. Typical sailor.


In fashion, there are definite generational gaps. My good friend J, who is 15 years older than me, believes that one's hose should always match one's shoes, and one only wears nude-colored hose if one wants look trampy. I, on the other hand, don't see much of a point of hose in any other shade but nude. I remember owning a pair of black tights in high school because when I played in the orchestra, it was required that girls wear black hose. Of course, since I was wearing a floor-length skirt (I wouldn't recommend playing cello in anything shorter), it was rather a moot point.

I'm also the only girl I know my age who still wears a slip. Granted, all of my slips are at least 15 years old, but I refuse to wear a skirt without a slip. I feel naked without one. I'll even wear a slip under a skirt or dress that is already lined. It just makes me feel like I'm wearing everything I should be.

And don't get me started on the whole "no pantyhose" trend in fashion now. Honestly, I don't care how tan your legs are, legs look awful in a dress without hose. Especially at a formal event! Put some damn hose on! I don't want to see your leg tendons popping out at me.

Apparently I am even more unfashionable than I realized. According to Allure magazine (of which I am an avid reader), it's not enough now to leave slips and hose at home. Shockingly enough, underwear in general is now completely optional.

Can I get a collective "ewwwww"???

Apparently in the world of fashion, more often than not, models and other folks show up sans panties. Women are so afraid of the visible panty line, and so hateful of thongs, that they figure the best solution is to go panty-less.

The whole thing just sort of grosses me out.

I was raised by a mother who taught me that I really ought not to wear panties to bed in order to let my hoo-ha air out. Now that I'm an adult, I completely ignore her advice. I am always wearing panties unless I am in the pool or in the shower. That's just me. But I can understand those who opt for an airing-out.

But to go days and weeks without putting on a pair of panties? Am I the only person who finds that unhygienic? I hate washing my jeans every single time I wear them, but if I didn't wear panties, I would have to! And why would I want the rough surface of my jeans scratching such delicate and important flesh??

What really grosses me out to no end is the fact that some of these women don't even bother putting on panties when they go shopping. Manufacturers put hygienic liners into swimsuits; what's next, putting them into jeans and pants and leggings?? Allure even mentioned that one store clerk remembered a mortified woman falling out of her changing room bare-bottomed as she tried on a pair of pants a wee bit too tight for her.

The Allure article quotes a Hollywood wardrobe stylist who says the only group of her clientele who considers underwear essential are those over 40. Apparently at least 70% of young actresses show up sans undies.

I'm not saying we should revert to being Victorian prudes, where even saying "leg" was supposedly enough to incite the animalistic instincts of men, and when table legs were covered by skirts to prevent men from becoming unduly aroused by the sight of these naked legs. But not wearing panties??

Sorry, folks, but going commando is a trend I will NEVER embrace.




previous * next