bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
06 February 2007

A day to myself
I got to go to the commissary all on my own today! How cool is that??

My friend J has offered to watch Grace on any Tuesday afternoon I need her to do so, which is why my doctor's appointment is next Tuesday. But I don't have to have anything specific planned; J just wants to give me a break from Grace.

Is J an awesome friend or what??

So today after she got home, she came over and stole my daughter. I got my stuff ready, and it was off to the commissary for me!

A Starbucks has been built into the NEX, so I had to stop there first. Mmmm cinnamon latte. That was darn good. I wandered around the NEX for a bit, but all I bought was some makeup.

Yeah. Like I need more makeup.

I thought by not taking Grace to the commissary, I would be saving some time. I saved some frustration, I know that, but I didn't save any time! I must be the world's slowest grocery shopper. But I only do it every two to three weeks, so I end up getting a lot. I also try to stock up only once a month. I was running short on diced and stewed tomatoes, and I was all out of canned fruit that Miss Gracie loves to inhale. Soup was on sale, so I got a bunch of cans. Soup is awesome for lunch, especially when you have a grilled cheese sandwich with it!

I saved $13.55 in coupons too!! Go me!

Grace didn't want to come home from J's house. I'm used to it by now; every time I go over there to retrieve her, she throws a fit. Being at J's house is so much more fun. J's son and daughter, both teens, love Grace and shower her with mass quantities of attention. She doesn't have to entertain herself, like she does when I'm busy. She's always got SOMEONE to pay attention to her. So why would she want to come home?

All her toys are here at our house, so there's some incentive for you.

All in all, a good day. It's so weird to go somewhere without Grace. She's been my constant companion since she was born. I'm not one of those moms that won't allow her child to stay with someone else; it's just the way our lives have worked out the last two years that we've had to spend most of our time together. When I go somewhere without her, I feel like I forgot something. I almost feel naked.

It's sad in a way. There's no one to give me smooches on demand.

I made up for it as soon as we got home. I had to have a smooch-fest with her, which made her giggle. She's very ticklish under her chin, and if you smooch her there or nibble on her chin, it makes her giggle so hard.

There's no better sound in the world than a child's belly laugh.




previous * next