bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
02 February 2007

Good for what ails ya
How do you manage to stop laughing about something when you're trying to discipline your kid???

Grace likes to sit on my lap when I'm on the computer. Usually it's fine, since I'm playing some Pogo game or something anyhow. Tonight she got up on my lap as I checked a few of my favorite diaries. Then for some odd reason, she sticks her cold hand down my shirt!!!

Now I like shirts that are either v-neck or scoop-neck; I am not a crew neck kind of a girl. So sticking one's hand down my shirt isn't all that difficult, especially when you have little hands.

I'm not sure where she got it from because, as far as I know, she doesn't do it to Kurt. I wasn't able to nurse Grace, so she doesn't know to yank up my shirt to get to the milk like some kids do.

Damn, her hands were cold!! And I was trying to say, "No, no, Gracie!!"

But I was laughing too hard!!! I kept saying, "No!" in the midst of giggling. Of course, she thought it was hilarious, and if Mommy is laughing, she must be doing something right!

So much for discipline.

D'ya know, retail therapy is good for what ails ya!!

Today after Grace's art class (I nearly wrote "Art's grace class," which I said earlier today when I had to explain to my sister on the phone why I was so late in running out the door), we went down to the bakery cafe again to get coffee. I was very good and did not succumb to the temptation of a breakfast sandwich OR a specialty coffee. I just got a homemade bagel that I split with Grace and a regular drip coffee. And yes, my "boyfriend" was there. I think he's actually Grace's boyfriend now. He was totally flirting with her today. And of course, she wouldn't leave him alone so he could get his work done. She loves attention.

Then I decided to walk around downtown. My favorite antique store is closed until further notice so the owners can get their elderly parents settled in to a nursing home. I know it's tearing her up to have to do that; she did not want them to lose their independence. She'd cut down so much on the hours the store was open so she could go over to their house and help them out, to the point where it was only open four days a week. Something must have happened; maybe one of them fell and was injured. But I check every time I go to town, in case they've opened again. Unfortunately they were still closed when I checked today.

But you know what was open?? The used book store!!!

Yes, I am an addict.

I bought five books today. One was a vegetarian cookbook for my sister Michele because I am just the coolest. Three of the books were reprints of cooking books from the late 19th century, and one was a history of salt.

Hey, I'm a nerd. The history of salt is interesting to me!

Then my friend AS called, the one who is the nanny, and we met up at the mall for lunch and shopping. She really wanted to get her little girl this outfit she'd seen at Macy's a while back, and her employers give her a ton of money with which to outfit the little girl. I wanted to go clothes shopping for Grace because none of her dresses fit her any more. They're all a size 24M, and they're getting fairly indecent. I am somewhat paranoid about her wearing short skirts; it seems perverse to me in a way. I much prefer to see her in a skirt that falls below the knee. This can be problematic because Grace still has her huge baby belly, as well as a lot of "junk in the trunk," which she gets from me. Grace has only two dresses right now that I am comfortable putting her in, and they're both a size 3T.

Finding casual knit dresses for a toddler is apparently impossible here. Macy's had a fairly good selection of toddler clothes (although they have a LOT more infant clothes to choose from), but no casual dresses. That confused me because I had bought the two 3T dresses she has now from Macy's on clearance.

At that point, my friend AS elected to go back to her little girl's home so she could take a nap, but I continued on with my search. I went to Penney's and again was denied. I found a cute monkey shirt for her, however, so I had to get that, and she picked out an Elmo shirt she couldn't live without. It's so rare that she asks for anything that I decided to splurge and get her a character shirt. I don't normally do that.

The only place left to check in the mall for dresses was Gymboree. I managed to find an adorable knit dress for Grace in a size 3 which also has long sleeves! Double bonus! I think it will last her not only this year, but next year as well. It was insanely expensive, at least in my eyes, but I think since I will get two years' use out of it, it's worth it. I also bought her a matching skirt and shirt outfit, complete with coordinating tights. I just couldn't resist. I spent an insane amount of money in Gymboree. I feel kind of weird because I usually get all of Grace's clothes at Penney's or Macy's on clearance. Granted, everything I got today was on sale, but it was more than I would normally spend for things.

Hey, you only live once.

I don't normally buy clothes for Grace at Target or Walmart, although I'm more willing to buy from Target. The problem I have with Walmart is the clothes are very cheap. I bought Grace a shirt from Walmart once (it was too cute not to take a chance on), and the first time I washed it, the seam unraveled. I would rather spend $5 on a shirt on clearance at Macy's than a regularly-priced one at Walmart.

Anyhow, Grace is still relatively without dresses. I've been told that as the spring merchandise comes in, I might have better luck. I'll keep checking... but I have a feeling I might be making a couple of online purchases to get Grace properly outfitted.

Gotta love the internet!




previous * next