bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
28 January 2007

Historical differences
I was all ready to do my taxes today!!!

I got my mortgage interest statement ready, went online and printed out Kurt's W-2, and settled in for an hour or two on the TurboTax website.

Then I ran into a minor obstacle -- my student loan interest statement isn't yet available online. I'm three days early.

*sigh*

I don't even think it's going to make a difference, but you never know. It's better to have all of one's ducks in a row when it comes to taxes anyhow.

The nice thing is what I've done so far is saved online, so it's not like I have to go back and redo everything.

But I was all ready to do it today!!!!

Oh well.

Last night I watched a documentary on John and Abigail Adams that I had taped off PBS. It was actually a really good show. My only minor objection was the thick southern drawl that they had the man playing Jefferson use. I'm not sure that someone in the late 18th century living in the south would already have a different accent from the other colonies. Wouldn't it take a while to develop the southern twang?

One thing did occur to me while I was watching the show. See, I grew up on the East Coast, and specifically in Virginia. Most weekends when I was a kid we'd go visit some Civil War battlefield. The places we read about in the history books where famous events took place were exits off I-95 as we traveled around the East Coast. Even just finding out what county someone is from brings history to life, as most counties are named after a famous founding father.

History is alive back East. It's everywhere. You can't go somewhere without seeing a statue of Jefferson or Washington or Robert E. Lee (if you're in the South). Some folks are even willing to continue fighting the Civil War, as thought it didn't end over 140 years ago.

Here in Washington, there is very little that is old in the same way. Old is 100 or 150 years ago, compared to 400 years in Virginia. Things are named after Native American tribes and famous men, instead of the founding fathers. It's a totally different kind of history.

When I told J that I was moving to Rhode Island, she exclaimed over how much history is there. I giggled and told her it'll be just like living in Virginia!




previous * next