bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
21 January 2007

I hate Windows
It's a sad thing when that most august of online news publications, CNN.com, misspells a very common word on its headline.

They'll probably fix it quite soon, but right now it reads "24 US toops killed in one day."

Ummm, what's a "toop"???

Doesn't anyone do any proofreading anymore??

*sigh*

In other news, yes, I do use Firefox about 99% of the time. However, there is one situation in which IE can be useful -- occasionally a comic strip is published in the paper that I just have to share with my husband, and if you find it in IE, you can right-click on the image and email it quite easily. You can't do that in Firefox.

But I much prefer Firefox. Thanks for the suggestion!

My computer woes. I still hate Windows. Part of it because I am old skool when it comes to computers. I remember Windows 3.1. I remember DOS. I remember typing up papers for school using WordPerfect (before a thing such as Word even existed!) before WordPerfect had a graphic user interface. If you wanted to underline a word, you would use a keystroke to do so, and then the word would appear red on the screen. It could not display the word underlined. You just had to know that red words were underlined. I learned all the hard ways of going about business on the computer, so now that it's been dumbed down for the less-than-average consumer, I find it difficult sometimes to do what I need to do.

I hate the fact that if you change one teeny little thing that seemingly has nothing to do with anything, it could totally hose up your system. It's frustrating that everything is integrated into everything else. I just want to do something and get it done without having to log into ninety thousand other things.

We bought my current computer last February because the "old" computer had a corrupted version of IE on it. You can't simply overwrite a corrupted version of IE with a newer version, and you can't remove IE without doing a complete reformat. To me, it was easier to simply start over with a completely new computer. Besides, it was time for one anyhow. The old one was probably four or five years old.

What caused my current computer woes is that for some reason, every time I opened Outlook Express, this stupid version of Windows Messenger would log me on and make me visible to those who have my Messenger ID. This is definitely not a good thing; there are times when I want to be invisible, like before I am even awake. I researched how to fix it on the internet, but the suggestions I found I couldn't use because for some reason, now this Messenger is running without showing up on the taskbar. Finally I figured out how to at least slightly disable it, so I think I'm all right now. Even if I am still logged on to this darn thing, hardly anyone has that Messenger ID so I should remain fairly anonymous.

I had tried to remove this stupid program using Add/Remove Windows Components. In doing so, I have inadvertently corrupted my files for the Windows Plus package that allows me to have various desktop themes. The only way to get my stuff back is to reinstall it, which would entail buying the package because it was simply pre-installed on my machine before I bought it. It's not a huge deal; it's just a slight annoyance.

The part that pissed me off was this: I called Dell to help me, and got an EXTREMELY helpful man that helped me figure things out. He spent an hour and a half on the phone with me trying to trouble-shoot.

I love Dell.

But I asked him if we could somehow contact Microsoft to ask them about the corrupted files, whether I could fix the problem just by buying this package and reinstalling. He got us on a three-way (tee hee, I had a three-way yesterday!) with Microsoft. The man at Microsoft informed us very snippily that he couldn't help us because that wasn't the technical department, but he could connect us to that department. For a fee. He told us that since Dell had installed the software on my computer before I bought it, it was Dell's problem.

See, this is another reason I hate Microsoft. It's Microsoft's software! Do you know of any other software company that will refuse to troubleshoot their software because it was preinstalled by another company? I just think it's terrible customer service. But I guess Microsoft makes so much money by being basically the ONLY IBM-compatible (hoooo it's been a while since we've seen that adjective!) OS developer on the market. Yes, we can use Linux, but there isn't a whole lot of software for Linux. We could go really extreme and go to Macs, which are far more stable.

But again, I'm old skool and leery of Apple products. Just call me old-fashioned. The last time I used an Apple computer was in elementary school, back when we played that game where you had to direct the turtle across the screen using coordinates, and he'd leave behind a trail.

See?? Old-skool!!

Anyhow, so now my computer is basically back to normal with the exception of the loss of my themes. Not a big deal. But I got nervous for a bit because nothing serious has gone wrong since Kurt left. I was worried this would be the big one!!!

Fortunately it wasn't!

YAY!




previous * next