bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
09 January 2007

Speed test
In case you were wondering...

Apparently my upload is somewhat slow, but I can't complain about the download speed! Thank God for high speed!

We're due for a big storm tonight. The forecasters are saying wind and rain that turns to snow, and frigid temperatures. The high for tomorrow is 35�, and for Thursday it's 27�. That is darn cold for this area! I'll have to start running my forced air heaters instead of just the space heater. Brrr!! Too bad I won't have a husband to snuggle with at night! *wink*

Let's just hope the power stays on.

Fortunately, my friend J bought a generator the day before power was restored after the last windstorm in December. If it gets too boring and cold here in the house, I can always go across the street to her house, where it will be nice and toasty warm. Plus her family absolutely adores Gracie, so I'll get a tiny break from her.

We've also managed to dodge the stomach bug the second time around. I talked to my neighbor R a couple days ago, and she told me that she and her husband and their son were all laid low by the stomach bug all last week. I have plans to make them homemade chicken noodle soup to help them recover.

I went to the commissary today to get stocked up since my fridge (my clean, sparkling fridge!) was looking a little bare. I looked at the spot where the Italian parsley is supposed to be, and there was nothing there. I asked the guy who was putting out other produce if there was any parsley left, and he told me that they were all out.

How can you be all out of parsley???

Then he tried to convince me to buy dried parsley, which is what I normally use, but in my homemade chicken noodle soup, fresh is required.

Oh well. I have to go to the foo-foo grocery store anyhow to replenish some of my other dried spices, so I decided I would just buy some fresh parsley there.

Another commissary employee came up to refill the cilantro, and exclaimed to the gent I just talked to, "You put the Italian parsley here in the space for cilantro!!"

I just had to bust out laughing at that because once I get the two herbs home, I have such a hard time telling them apart! I usually end up tasting them to see which is parsley and which is cilantro (aka, green coriander). The lady who restocked the cilantro informed me that parsley has spikier leaves, and the cilantro is more rounded. Let's see if I can remember that!

Yesterday I went shopping. There is no better cure for what ails ya than retail therapy!!! I wanted to get some towels at Penney's during their white sale. I have dusky purple towels that I got at Penney's three years ago or so, and I wanted to get some more. They had that exact same color in their Masterpiece towel on sale for $9 each (they're normally twice that much), and I was eager to add more to my collection. However, they were out of actual bath towels in that color. I had noticed on the sign that you can order them online, so I tried that. They wanted $11 a towel online!!! Why are the prices different online from in the store?? That makes no sense. I'll just have to wait till Penney's has another sale. Probably next week. They seem to have major blow-out sales every other week.

I also managed to buy myself things instead of things for Grace! I bought her a new shirt simply because I could not resist it (and it was only $3), but I got two new pairs of pajamas for myself on the Christmas clearance. I had been in a phase for years where I only would wear a nightgown to bed (and the longer the better; I'm not into nightshirts), but then I kept getting caught up in my nightgown through the night. One night I wore my one pair of pajamas to bed, and now I'm hooked. But I needed a couple more pairs, especially since I'm going on a trip this weekend to Portland. It wouldn't do to wear old raggedy pajamas when you're a guest in someone's home.

One great thing about moving to Rhode Island: I am sad to be leaving an area where there is a latt� stand on every corner, but I am going to a place that has Dunkin Donuts!! Have you ever had Dunkin Donuts coffee?? Oh my word, it is to die for. Mmmmm. Of course, I'm sure the coffee gourmands out there would argue with me, but hey, I know what I like!




previous * next