bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
01 January 2007

The never ending New Years party
With most New Year's Eve parties, once the ball has dropped the festivities tend to wind down and people begin to disperse.

Apparently I threw such an awesome party last night that the fireworks at the Space Needle to ring in the New Year marked only the midpoint of the festivities.

People did not begin leaving my house until 4:30am. Fortunately the two sets of guests (my friend J and her family, and the neighbors across the street, the Cs) only had to cross the street to reach their homes again, which I think had something to do with how late the party broke up.

We started by playing Turbo Yahtzee. Then we moved on to US Navy Monopoly, and even though they (I was banker and sat out) played the so-called fast version, it still took two hours. Uno Attack followed, with an interruption to watch the fireworks at the Needle and toast the New Year with champagne. Somehow we ended up with Trivial Pursuit, which I don't even own, and I was teamed up with J's husband. I think we won. It's all just a blur now. We ended the night with Life, although we never finished the game. We gave up halfway through.

Champagne wasn't the only alcohol at my party. I hadn't planned on having much because I only had a 12-pack of Hefeweizen in the garage, and I figured I'd save that for the guys because I know they enjoy a good beer. I figured we ladies would stay sober.

I figured wrong.

Somehow six bottles of wine found their way into my house and into the stomachs of we three women. Added to the champagne we had at midnight, and it's no wonder that by 4:30am everything was very, very fuzzy.

I also had a slumber party last night. Grace had gone to bed around 10pm (she'd had a three-hour nap yesterday), and the Cs' daughter (age 7) had conked out around 2am. J's daughter, the one who'd come down with the stomach bug, also wanted to sleep over. It's a good thing I have a queen-sized bed!! It's quite weird having people in your bed when it's been over a month since you've had to share it.

I am now starting to feel human again, but I'm fairly certain I won't feel entirely myself until tomorrow.

Remind me not to throw any more parties any time in the future!

Happy New Year, all!!!




previous * next