bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
19 December 2006

Not one not two...
Wow, I'd hate to live in Australia and have the power go out during the heat of summer! At least I didn't lose any food; the house was almost as cold as the inside of a working fridge.

If the power were to go out in the summer here, it wouldn't be a big deal because it doesn't get very warm here. If it goes into the 80s, it's getting darn hot. But generally summer temps hover in the 70s.

I doubt they're going to be shutting off power tomorrow to do whatever maintenance they'd threatened to do in J's letter. My friend HC, who lives just north of Tacoma, still has no power. PSE told her it would probably be Friday before they were able to restore her power. I invited her to come stay up here with me, especially if her kids stay with their grandparents. I don't mind having everyone up here, but logistically speaking, my home is too small to handle an extra four people. Two, HC and her husband, would be a lot more do-able.

Night before last, I headed over to R's house to return the baby sleeping bag she'd lent me to help keep Gracie warm. I ate my dinner (homemade chicken noodle soup -- YUM!), and headed over during halftime of the Sunday night game.

Why is it that I can never remember to watch Monday Night Football??? I ALWAYS forget. ALWAYS. It's frustrating.

I meant to be gone only 30 minutes maximum, as I didn't want to miss too much of the game. When I arrived at R's, she told me, "Come on in! You're just in time for dinner!!" I tried to explain that Grace and I had just had dinner, but she wouldn't hear of it. So Grace and I had dinner #2, homemade cheesy mac. Yummmmmmm.

Then I had to return the keys to my neighbors the Cs. They'd kept their fireplace going while they were gone while the power was out, so they told me I could stay there and keep warm if it got too cold in the house. When I arrived at the Cs', I intended to just hand over the keys and head back home. The daughter decided she really wanted to play with Grace, so the next thing I know, Grace is off in the kid's room, and I'm sitting down in the living room chatting with the parents.

They were also watching Sunday night football, so I wasn't missing anything.

As I sat and talked with the wife, the husband came over to us and handed us each a bowl. Inside was a conglomeration of broccoli and pasta and bacon and seasonings... Oh my word, it was to die for. I tried to tell him I'd already had two dinners, but he wouldn't take the bowl back. Grace had half a grilled cheese sandwich and some Craisins to boot.

Somehow I managed to get three dinners that night! And not too long after dinner, the husband also made us drinks. Mmmm.

I should go visiting at dinnertime more often! ;o)

PS -- Today is my stepmom's birthday! YAY!! And Friday was my brother's 18th birthday. I cannot believe he is so old already!




previous * next