bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
18 December 2006

Possible scheduled outage
Have I mentioned how nice it is to have power again?? I'm celebrating the occasion by letting Grace watch more tv than normal. She's supposed to be watching Sesame Street, but for some reason KBTC (the Tacoma PBS station) isn't broadcasting at the moment. Maybe they don't have power; I don't know.

Instead Grace is watching "Make Way for Noddy" on PBS Kids' Sprout. I hate this show, really I do. Oh well. She likes it.

J called me earlier today on her way to referee yet another basketball game on the other side. She mentioned that she'd gotten a letter from Puget Sound Energy (aka PSE) last week saying they were taking down power this coming Wednesday to do some sort of maintenance or something, and it would be out from 8am to 5pm.

Zuh whaaaaa???

First off, that just doesn't sound right. We just had a whole 'nother substation added to our local grid in the last year or two and they never had to shut off power to do that. Second, if they take down power from 8am to 5pm, that's basically more than sunup to sundown. The sun rises at 7:45am now and sets at 4:15pm. And how are we supposed to heat our houses in such cold weather when we don't have power? Wouldn't they schedule maintenance like that during the summer when we don't have to worry about staying warm? (Since we don't have air conditioning here, it wouldn't matter to be without power during the day in the summer.)

Lastly, apparently J is the only one who got this letter. I know I didn't get one. She said she got it last week, and it wasn't bundled in her bill. I don't get my bill in the mail anymore; I get it through email. I would definitely recall a letter from PSE since it would be very unusual to get something in the mail from them. I also called R, and she told me she didn't get this letter. I meant to ask the neighbors I stayed with over the weekend when I went down to give them their thank-you present (a pot of pretty white winter roses), but I forgot.

So I don't know what to think. Even if they were scheduling to do this kind of maintenance, I have a feeling it's being put off. The poor crews have been working since last week non-stop because there were a few outages due to wind even before the nasty storm hit. Over a million people were without power after the storm. These guys need a break!

But I just want to know why J got this letter and no one else seems to have.

"Things that make ya go hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm....."




previous * next