bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
11 December 2006

Two busy shopping days
What a day already, and it's only 1:15!!!

Actually, what a couple of days. Sheesh. It doesn't rain, but it pours around here!

Night before last, while I was stitching and watching some documentary on barbarians I had DVR'ed (I told you I was a nerd, and you persist in thinking I am not!), I began thinking of Grace. I am concerned that maybe I don't do enough with her, that I don't have her in enough social-building things. I don't do playgroups, and so far she's not in any classes. I want to get her signed up into an art class for toddlers next month, but right now it's just the two of us. And I'm more than happy to sit around the house and not do much of anything.

I must be doing something right because Miss Gracie is teaching herself her numbers. It's surprising, really.

Then I started thinking about getting her together with my neighbor R's son. He's just six months younger than Grace, so it's good for them to play together. The problem was I hadn't spoken to R in a while, and honestly, I wasn't even sure if she liked me. I stressed about calling her all night too. I don't know why I stress about small stuff, but I do. It's pathetic.

Sunday morning I got up at a decent time (my mother-in-law called me at 9am to report that Mom-mom is doing much, much better, and is in a center for stroke rehabilitation, and of course, that just made my morning right there), and finally called R around 10:30am. She seemed very happy to hear from me, which really put me at ease, and when I mentioned going to the other side (aka Seattle) sometime since I have ferry tickets I need to use before they expire, she piped up with, "Let's go today!"

So we did!

We went to the mall on that side; it's wayyyyyyyy bigger and nicer than our little mall. I do like our little mall, but there are some things I really like that I can't get on our side. R was just looking for an excuse to get out of our county. I think it's a bit too rural and redneck for her. *wink*

Me, I'm a shopper. I do like to shop, although I don't always buy something. But I at least like to look around the shops. I hadn't bought anything since Kurt had left, where normally I'm running off to Walmart and Target every other day, so I felt I had the money to spend.

I got an electric tart burner (those little wax things that Yankee Candle sells) so I don't have to fool with tealights anymore. R raised her eyebrow at me, getting something so frivolous.

I got some cologne at L'Occitane en Provence because it smelled so darn good, and I thought it was an extremely good price. R raised her eyebrow at me.

I went to Sephora and spent a good chunk of money on makeup. R raised her eyebrow at me, and asked why can't I wear the cheap stuff at Walmart? Well, I can. And I do. But I prefer the nicer stuff because it lasts me longer and my face doesn't break out in huge pimples. I look young enough as it is; I don't need to have an acne problem to reinforce my teenage looks.

But you know, I have the money. I didn't spend anything I didn't have. I go to the other side and get nice makeup three, maybe four times a year. I buy very little in between those runs, so I figure I'm probably spending as much money on the nice stuff as I would getting the cheap stuff every time I went to Target.

I think R doesn't like shopping with me because I can afford to buy Grace new clothes, though I almost always get things on sale or even on clearance. She buys her son clothes from yard sales and consignment shops because that's what she can afford. The whole day yesterday she didn't buy anything except lunch, and she kept talking about what a small Christmas it was going to be for her family. But you know, every family is different.

It was still good to hang out with her, all in all. I guess I inadvertently hurt her feelings because she got the impression I didn't want to spend any time with her when Kurt was home. I just always waited for her to call me, so I guess it's just a small misunderstanding.

Today has been almost as busy. J called me last night to invite me out to Seattle next week (I have plans for next week already! YAY!), and when she mentioned having to go to town today I invited myself along since I had a check to deposit. I was even willing to get up early to go with her! I was up at 7:40am this morning, shockingly enough. I'm so proud of me.

Among our stops today was a trip to Costco. Gosh, I love that place! Some days I wish my funds were unlimited. Man, could I do some major damage to my checkbook in there! I was good, though. All I got were some bananas for Grace (the cheapest place you can get them -- $1.30 for four pounds!), some kitchen towels because mine are worn out... and a case full of makeup. I know I just made the case for more pricey makeup, but I couldn't resist a huge train case full of makeup for $20! Mainly I bought it for the case itself. I really need something larger to hold all my makeup. As it is, right now I have my powder foundation and some blush in the top drawer of my vanity. Then I have to get into two different bags and my set of brushes to put the rest of my face on. It'll be nice to have everything in one place, and organized to boot!

Everyone has their weakness. Mine has to be makeup, I suppose. I gave up on shoes because I just can't find anything in my size; darn my wide feet. And it's funny because I'm really not that vain. It takes me between five and ten minutes to put my makeup on, and most of the time I forget my lipstick. I put it on once and usually don't do anything else to it all day. And I don't check my makeup at every opportunity either. I figure it looks good enough, and I leave it alone. I guess I just like having options; I guess that's why I like makeup so much. One day I can have green eyeshadow, the next day I'll wear purple, and then the next I'll have blue, maybe pink the day after that, and some days when I want to be neutral I'll throw on some brown.

It's fun. It keeps me busy.

Besides, I told Kurt that yesterday's shopping day and the train case I bought today can be my Christmas present. Now I've let him off the hook!




previous * next