bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
10 October 2006

Strangest phone call ever
I experienced the strangest phone call I have ever received this morning.

I have caller ID, and generally what that means is if I don't recognize the name, I don't answer the phone. Mainly that's limited to telemarketers, but since I am also on the "do not call" registry, I don't get many of those calls anymore.

While on the phone with Caroline this morning (which is generally how I pass my days), the call-waiting beeped in and I glanced at the caller ID. It was a personal name, not a company, and it was one that had called me several times already but not left a message.

Why do folks and companies do that?? I am more willing to answer the phone if they leave a message!! When they don't leave a message, I know for sure they only want my money.

Jerks.

So I figured this person just kept calling the wrong number. We had that a lot when we first moved to this house. People would call my house insisting that So-and-So really did reside here, and I'd have to keep saying that no, he didn't! That's why I answered the phone this morning; I wanted to make sure that person knew he had the wrong number.

Funnily enough, it wasn't a personal call. The woman said her name was Such-and-So, and she represented Big-Local-Name Realty Company. She wanted to let me know they had just listed a home in my area, and did I know anyone who wanted to move here?

Ummm. No. Not even no, but hell no. I mean, I like this area and all, but it's kind way out in there in the boonies and most people I know prefer a more urban environment.

I told her no, I didn't know anyone who wanted to move here. Then she continued with her questioning. Did I plan to move any time soon? How long have I lived in my house? And so on.

Finally I told the lady, after not answering her questions, that I was busy and couldn't talk to her anymore. I mean, I did still have Caroline on the other line, and even though I have unlimited long distance, that lady didn't have to know that.

She weirded me out with her final question. She asked me, "Do you mind if I pray for you?"

*blinks*

I replied, "Ummm, sure, if you feel like it."

Her next question just totally floored me. "Do you mind if I pray with you right now?"

*blinks*

"Look, lady, I gotta go. Please don't call her again."

*click*

WHAT THE FREAKIN' HELL?????

First off, apparently Seattle is a not-very-religious area. It has one of the lowest church attendances in the country. We don't have a church on every corner, and most of the folks who do attend church tend to go to a universalist or other non-threatening non-denominational church.

(I just noticed that "denomination" and "demon" are easy to confuse for the other when you're typing. Coincidence??)

Secondly, this was supposed to be a business call. It was a real estate agent for a big-name local realty company trying to drum up business. Where does praying come into that? What if I were a Buddhist or a Wiccan?? Or even an atheist??

I don't care if she wants to pray for me on her own time in her own way. I'm still weirded out by it but hey, we can all use more prayers and/or divine intervention of some kind in our lives. But why call me under the guise of wanting to sell my house and then turn the call into a prayer meeting??

I wonder if I should call Big-Name-Local-Real-Estate Company and say something.

I'm still weirded out.




previous * next