bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
10 August 2006

Short talk with Kurt
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!! I just got off the phone with Kurt! I got an entire half-hour to talk to him!!!

Man, I am in the best mood now!

Gosh.

You don't know how much you miss your husband till he's not around anymore, and you have very little contact with him.

The best part???

He said he'd call me back tonight!

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!

It's back to being balls cold here. It's currently 61�, and I'm wearing jeans and SOCKS. I never wear socks in the summertime, but my feet were cccccold this morning. I even put socks and leather shoes on Gracie. We'll see how long they last; she's a huge fan of taking off shoes. Every time I take her somewhere, I have to put her shoes back on before I take her out of the car.

A few days ago as I was leaving the neighborhood to run some errands, I noticed a little girl out getting the mail for her parents. She was wearing shorts and a winter coat. Only in Washington will you see that combination in August.

That said, it's not so bad that it's cold. I'm hoping some of the cool weather will percolate eastward to those of you still sweltering in the heat. Hear that?? That's me blowing cool air your way.

The hauling-my-fat-ass-outta-bed-in-the-morning experiment has failed two days out of two. Yesterday I woke up when my alarm went off at 8:30am, said to myself, "sure I can sleep in another half-hour!" and didn't wake back up till after 9:30. Dammit. Then last night I was online "chatting" with Kurt through email, which was really slow because his email connection is currently quite wonky. I got one email from him that said they were taking email down, and then a few moments later I get another email from him just fine. Then I emailed him, and he didn't get that one, so I email it again to him, and he has to email me his response twice before I receive it. Weird. Plus then Fi, aka Allegedwife, had posted a neat little questionnaire on how much we non-Aussies know about Australia. Of course, I had to Google and Dogpile and About.com my way through the questions, and I'm quite proud to say I found most of them. I'm still stumped by some. Looking all that up took another 45 minutes or so, but then I was still waiting for a response from Kurt. All of this adds up to not getting to bed before 2:30am or so. Then I didn't sleep well all night for whatever reason, so there was no way I was getting up before 9:30am. I didn't have anywhere to go anyhow.

Today I got out my favorite body spray by Bath & Body Works, which is Refreshing Garden Mint. I don't think they sell it anymore, which is a shame. I bought it just before I was married in 2001, and I wore it every day on our honeymoon to Richmond. We stayed at a bed & breakfast in Petersburg, just south of Richmond, and apparently Ms. Katharine Hepburn herself stayed in our room one night, years and years and years ago. Every time I wear this fragrance it makes me remember our honeymoon. I'm getting kind of sad because I'm going to run out of it soon.

In more useless Navy uniform news, my good buddy Art graciously informed me of a very vulgar name for the aforementioned garrison cap that Chief Petty Officers and commissioned officers can wear with their khaki uniforms. It has also been confirmed by the Wikipedia article linked above.

It does sort of look like it, doesn't it?? *wink*




previous * next