bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
18 July 2006

In which I am stood up
A rainbow appeared tonight

Isn't that cool???

Last night as I was hanging out, watching tv, I noticed the light looked a little odd. There were some really neat cloud formations with a lovely sunset, so I grabbed the camera and headed out to my back deck. Lo and behold, there was a rainbow!! I'm still not sure why we had one; it hadn't rained here, and contrary to popular belief, it is very rarely humid here.

The cool part was you could see most of the rainbow; the only bit missing was the very, very top as it was obscured by clouds. It's been years since I saw a rainbow, so I'm pretty excited by it.

I'm also stoked my camera could pick it up!

So Kurt's out to sea again, but it's not so bad. He's only gone for five days. I'm just hoping that the ferries aren't nearly as backed up as they were last Friday. Kurt got off work around 12:30pm and made it to the ferry terminal at 1pm, but I don't think he would have been on any ferry earlier than the 3:05pm run. I couldn't see the end of the line on the online ferry cams. That's why I ended up going over to that side. Then we tried to make the 10:35pm ferry home (my friend had graciously offered to watch Gracie all night), but even though we made it to the ferry terminal at 10:20pm, normally plenty of time to make such a late ferry, we were too far back in line to make that ferry. We had to wait for the 11:45pm ferry!! I was so tiiiiiiired.

Yesterday I had invited a friend over for dinner tonight, but she had mentioned possibly going to her sister's house in Seattle, so she wasn't sure if she was going to make it or not. I figured once she said she might or might not come that that meant she wasn't going to show up. It made me a little sad because I like adult conversation, and it's hard to come by when Kurt's not around, but I wasn't too upset. What did get me was she never called to confirm either way. It just would have taken five seconds to call me and say, "Hey, I can't make it because [insert excuse here]." I don't even care if the excuse is legitimate or not. Just call me to tell me you can't make it.

Oh well.

I know I've mentioned it here before, but DANG is it cold here!!! You people in Australia, it's supposed to be cold in July. It's wintertime for you folks! But here it's supposed to be SUMMER. Someone forgot to tell the Man Upstairs that Seattle is supposed to be experiencing summer. We had a heat wave today -- a whopping 71° (22° for you metric people). It's just 9pm and it's already down to 57°. I think I need to put the heat on! ;o)

Speaking of Aussies, I have to say that the Australian accent is by far my favorite foreign accent. I could sit and listen to an Aussie for days on end, rambling about nothing. Of course, I probably would have NO CLUE what was being said, but the accent is cool! Kurt has an Australian friend; maybe I ought to see if I can convince him to take a trip there to see her.

Hmmmmmm..... *wink*




previous * next