bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
15 July 2006

In which Grace dances her heart out
Today Kurt, Grace, and I went to the 2006 Sequim Lavender Festival in Sequim, Washington. And we definitely had a blast!!!!

I love lavender.

I love the scent of it, I love the look of it, I love its beautiful shade of purple, I love everything about it. Most everything I can buy in a lavender scent I have. My bathroom is decorated with a lavender theme. I even stitched a French lavender sampler to hang on the wall!

Lavender.... gooooooooood. ;o)

So definitely a festival revolving around lavender would be a good thing. Sequim, Washington, has a micro-climate almost mirroring that of Provence, France, and so the lavender grown here is just amazingly fragrant and beautiful. There are a zillion lavender farms in and around Sequim, and once a year they get together and put on a party!!!

You could buy a ticket and ride a shuttle bus around to eight of the most prominent lavender farms to see how they're run and to do crafts and eat food at each farm. We decided not to do that this year because Grace is still a bit too little and would probably get more in the way than anything else. But we did go to the street fair!

There were booths upon booths upon booths!! Halfway down the street were the food booths, and it was right about lunchtime when we got down that far. So we got some food (which we washed down with lavender soda and cleansed our palate with a a lavender ice cream sandwich made with lemon cookies), and sat on the grass to enjoy our food. There was a guy onstage nearby chattering away about something, but we weren't paying attention. All of a sudden, a lady's voice announced the Olympic Mountain Cloggers, and music blared out of the speakers as the cloggers took the stage.

We had to get a closer look, so we sat on the ground in front of the first row of chairs. Grace took one look at the dancers and decided to get her own groove on! She'd stand around and wait for the next song to start between dances, and once the music started, so did she!! Most of the audience watched Grace for at least part of each song, and even the clogging teacher was enthralled by how into it Gracie got.

She was so extremely cute dancing along to the cloggers that I had to start up the video on my digital camera. Again, I apologize for the poor quality (the original file is almost 100MB!!), but you get the idea.

Enjoy!!




previous * next