bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
15 June 2006

On again off again Finnegan
*sigh*

Sometimes a lack of technology absolutely sucks.

I don't know how the WWII wives did it, when they didn't know from day to day their husbands' fates! How did they survive knowing their husbands were in such danger, and letters from the front few and far between??

I would have gone mad. Stark, raving, absolutely bonkers.

Kurt was in San Diego on Sunday. But his mother and brother had flown out to join him and his youngest brother, so he was busy all weekend. Then Sunday we got into a big ol' argument (don't ask), and that was the last I heard of him.

I had been told prior to that that he was leaving San Diego on Monday. Now when he arrives back in port is up to interpretation, based on various rumors. (The Navy operates on rumors. I swear, it's more important to a sailor than food or fuel for the ships.) It was assumed he'd tell me through email when he was coming home.

Someone needs to fire all the IT-men on the ship because they haven't had email all week!!!!

A few have come through. Various rumors went around the ship that email was back up and running, and every time Kurt heard that, he wrote me a "test" email. It doesn't say anything of substance, just "I heard we had email. I'm testing. Let me know if this comes through." He has mentioned that he's been writing me every day, so that makes me feel better. But he's going to wait till email is officially back up and running to send me that long email.

With this lack of ability to communicate, of course I thought the worst, that he was silent on purpose, that he hated me, that he never wanted to see me again, etc.

I stress too much; y'all should know that by now!

But every time I think we have email communication again, it goes down again.

I swear I'm going insane.

Oh well. Soon enough he'll be home again, and I'll be begging him to go back out to sea!




previous * next