bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
12 June 2006

No me gusta FedEx
I slept like crap last night.

I hate it when that happens. I'm one of those oddballs that if I don't sleep the whole night through, I feel like crap the next day. Usually I don't have a problem sleeping. My sister always teases me for loving to sleep and being able to sleep through anything, but last night it just wasn't happening for me.

I got into bed at 11:30pm last night to watch Robot Chicken, which is only ten minutes long anyhow. Then I finished this Agatha Christie novel my stepmom had sent me, so it was just after midnight when I shut off my lamp.

And proceeded to toss and turn for much of the night.

I did take a nap yesterday afternoon, for about an hour and a half, which is probably why I didn't sleep very well. If I nap during the day, it completely mucks with my night sleep. But I was too tired NOT to nap. I guess that'll teach me.

Also it's hard not to be tired when it's dark and gloomy and rainy!!! I can't wait till summer starts in earnest here. I can handle the heat only because I know it won't last very long. I complained a lot about the heat the first summer I lived here, but that was partly because it was a bad summer (only not as bad as the summer I was pregnant -- THAT was a bad summer) and partly because I didn't know what to expect at all. I was used to Virginia summers with six months plus of 80 degree heat with a high humidity, but I had air conditioning to combat the heat. Here we don't have air conditioning, and I had no clue that summer heat is very short-lived here. We get really hot weather for four to six weeks, and then it starts to be simply beautiful for another three to four weeks, and then we start the slide down into gloom and rain and winter weather.

Of course, I may not be here for this coming winter. *crosses fingers* Depending on where Kurt wants to go next, I may move as soon as I can after he gets orders. I just need to get away from Washington. I feel so isolated here, and all of my efforts to meet people to build a social network have failed. And at this moment, knowing I'm moving in no more than a year, I don't feel like putting forth any more effort.

And no, I don't know yet where we are going! It always makes me giggle when people ask me that. Military families generally don't know till they're moving exactly where it is that they're going. And since Kurt wants to do recruiting, we can go anywhere in the country we want to. My only request is that we move back to Norfolk by 2010, when he goes back to sea duty, so I can be close to Caroline and my parents so I won't be so lonely when he's out to sea.

I got new makeup in the mail today. Yes, I am definitely a makeup whore. It's funny because I'm generally a tomboy. I'm not one of those people who refuse to leave the house without a face-full of makeup, but I do like to put on some foundation and eye makeup before I leave because it makes me feel pretty. But I'm just as likely to head down to the post office with a bare face.

Well, I had ordered this new makeup online, and it was shipped by FedEx on 1 June. It departed Sacramento on 2 June. And that's the last FedEx heard of my package!! Finally I contacted the company to tell them to ask FedEx where the hell my package was, and they were to have put a tracer on my package to find it. The FedEx page is still saying it departed Sacramento on 2 June; no further updates have been posted. So the company sent me a replacement by first class mail on Friday.

It got here today.

Take THAT, FedEx!!!

Amazingly enough, it seems as though the postal service gets things from point A to point B faster than UPS or FedEx, as long as you don't use parcel post. Any time I send my sister something in Ft. Lauderdale, FL, completely across the country from Seattle, it gets there in two or three days as long as I use first class or priority mail. When I buy something from QVC and they want to ship it to me through UPS, it takes 7-10 business days to get to me. I bought my watches from QVC on a Friday and asked it to be shipped to me by priority mail, and it got to me on the very next Monday. And it came from Suffolk, VA!

Plus UPS and FedEx charge through the nose to send packages. I'll stick with the postal service, thanks. Besides, it gives me an excuse to go see my postmaster. She's a sweety pie.

Grace has come up with a new way of informing me she's hungry. See, when I ask her if she wants breakfast, or lunch, or dinner, she always says, "Sure!" She'll never say "sure" as the answer to any other question. Anything else she'll respond with "yeah!" Now when she's hungry, she'll come up to me and say, "sure?"

She's so cute!

Have a fab one!!




previous * next