bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
26 May 2006

Try not to get on the bad side of SS agents
oooooooooo I totally forgot to tell you!!!!

When we were in DC, we nearly got killed by the Secret Service.

OK, they didn't shoot at us, but they did point their semi-automatic rifles at us!! How exciting!!!

See, Dad took us to the Franklin Delano Roosevelt Memorial, which was a pretty darn cool thing. The only thing I had a bit of reservation about is the first statue you see of him, he's in a wheelchair. And he took such pains to hide his wheelchair from the public that I don't know what he would think to have a bronze statue of him in a wheelchair! The family apparently ok'ed it, so who am I to complain?

Once we got done, Dad took us on a mini windshield tour of DC, although maybe he was just trying to get out of the city as traffic was just starting to build. Two black SUVs approached us from behind and then passed us, and I didn't think anything of it, till I saw the second SUV had its back hatch open with two Secret Service agents sitting in the cargo area with semi-automatic rifles.

Then we approached a stoplight, and Dad totally forgot about Secret Service protocol and creeped up on the SUV like he would behind any other vehicle at a stoplight.

I thought the Secret Service agents were going to pop a blood vessel!!!

They gestured violently for us to keep our distance, and when Dad didn't notice that, they began brandishing their weapons. Dad finally got the picture and stopped about 100 feet behind the SUV.

Once the light turned green, the two SUVs were off through the gathering traffic. I didn't see where they went, and I have no clue who they were carrying in the first SUV that needed such high security. It wasn't the President, but it could have been any high-ranking official.

Pretty exciting!!!

So Kurt should be pretty close to San Diego, if not actually in port. I'm glad because then I can actually talk to him on the phone, versus trying to catch him through email. Last night the only opportunity we had to "chat" through email was right as I finished dinner, and as I like to eat my dinner hot or at least somewhat warm, I told him I'd talk to him later. Unfortunately, he didn't get another chance to chat through email.

However, his brother is stationed in San Diego, and his mother is supposed to come out next weekend to see him as well. Plus Kurt's got a school to go to, so I don't know how much we'll be able to keep in contact. It makes me sad because generally we only have phone or email to communicate through, and if he has one, he generally doesn't have the other. And I have a feeling he's going to be too busy to phone.

I do count my blessings, though. At least we *do* have email and/or cell phone communication. My stepmom informed me that when Dad was out to sea when they were first dating, their normal method of communication was by letter. Those took weeks to get back to the States. No thanks -- I'll take my email!




previous * next