bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
17 May 2006

I can see clearly now the rain is gone
Can you believe it?? Yesterday I got sunburned!!! Now I already got a bit pink on Mother's Day because I was wearing a v-neck shirt and apparently I didn't put enough sunscreen on my upper chest. Bad me. Oh well, I was just pink for a day.

Yesterday I was outside talking to my mail carrier, a new one this time, a girl my age! Orlando, my adorable Puerto Rican mail carrier, moved to another route because this route involves too much sorting, and his shoulder couldn't handle it. Anyhow, I was outside chatting with her for maybe half an hour (both of us can talk each other's ears off!) with my left shoulder exposed to the sun. I was also wearing a sleeveless shirt, which I typically don't do, especially this early in the season. Hence I got a sunburn on my upper arm. How funny is that?? It was this perfect pink oval on my arm.

Don't fret -- I typically wear sunscreen since I am so darn fair. And I learned my lesson yesterday -- now Miss Gracie gets sunscreen on before she gets dressed. I hadn't planned to go outside yesterday at all because Tuesday is usually my mail lady's day off, but for some reason she was working.

So there you are.

Speaking of Miss Gracie... is it only me or is it rather disturbing to more people that the clothing they have available for children, even infants and toddlers, is really quite revealing?? It's like they take adult hoochie-mama clothes and just make a mini version of them for the babies.

I bought Gracie a dress at Walmart last night (which was my first mistake, I know), which is navy blue with a red trim and a red, white, and blue butterfly at the hem. I really liked it because of the color scheme and also because it's pretty darn long. I don't really like skirts that show her diaper pants underneath; it bugs me. So I go for skirts that hit her knee. Well, the back of this dress has a HUGE keyhole opening that exposes most of her back, and while the rest of the dress is really demure, that opening sort of bothers me.

I know, maybe I'm just old-fashioned. But I refuse to put halter tops (with the exception of some cute versions from The Children's Place) on Gracie, and even some tank tops are off-limits. They had hot pants at one store I was looking at kids' clothes -- I kid you not!!

Why would you put your kid in such revealing clothes? I don't mean to sound like an old-fashioned person, but you can be cute and fashionable without showing a ton of skin. I myself try not to show off too much skin; I don't think it's flattering to anyone, regardless of how thin or sexy you are. And it's doubly disturbing in this day and age of internet predators and pedophiles that parents would allow their children to wear sexy clothes when they're not even out of diapers!!

I dunno... maybe I'm just old before my time.




previous * next