bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
12 May 2006

No images
Apparently I let my Gold membership lapse. I just paid for another few months of it, but who knows when my images will come back?

Have patience please. ;o)

It was a very close call. But as my daddy always says, "Close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades."

Wise man, that.

Anyhow, Kurt called me yesterday to tell me that there was a good chance he was getting underway. Tomorrow.

Blecch.

See, he's already going to San Diego, and while I'd rather have him home with me, I'm okay with his going. I knew in advance, I made preparations mentally for it, I'm basically all good. Also, I was excited that he would finally be home for a Mother's Day since he was gone last year.

But another ship had major issues (long story that I'm not sure I'm even allowed to go into here), and his ship was on stand-by to replace them. That meant that if they'd gotten the call, his ship would leave on Saturday to replace the ship and then head onto San Diego from there, thereby shooting my Mother's Day plans right out of the water.

What ARE my Mother's Day plans, you ask?? Well, since it's been weeks and weeks and weeks since I did so, I plan on sleeping in. Kurt can get up with Gracie and play with her. That's about all I have planned for the day. Maybe some lounging around. Possibly reading the newspaper on the back deck with a cup of coffee. Sounds heavenly, yes?

I thought so.

(Side note -- Gracie has been asleep for two and a half hours so far. I'm starting to get nervous. When she's quiet for too long, it usually means she's up to something!)

BUT! Fortunately they called off replacing that other ship, so eventually Kurt will be home tonight (not for several more hours, for all that it's already nearly 5pm) and will get the whole weekend off.

Like I said, close only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades!




previous * next