bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
02 March 2006

Making the most of the day
The last couple of days, Kurt's been doing some community service for the Navy at the ammunition base north of our house. Unfortunately, it's only for two days. I could get used to this schedule!!!! He gets to sleep in till at least 7am, which is a major change from his normal time of 4:15am. Yesterday he got done at 2:30pm and was home 45 minutes later.

It's like I have a husband again!!!!

It's almost enough to make me want to sell the house and move to the other side.

However, that wouldn't change much. I got used to his being home at 5:30 or 6pm because of the ferry ride, and that was just dandy. It's like most civilians who work a 9am to 5pm shift, and then get home an hour later. So I can't complain.

I just hope they go back to "normal" working hours soon. Getting home in time for dinner I can handle. Not coming home till bedtime I can't. Not easily, anyhow.

I am trying something new, and we'll see how well it works out. For those of you who know me in real life, you know how much I love to sleep and how late I usually sleep on a daily basis. Most of the time I can't manage to drag myself out of bed before 10am. It's like I have no willpower to get up; I know I should, but my brain fabricates all kinds of excuses as to why I don't need to get up yet. And Gracie doesn't seem to mind the extra time in her crib. If she did cry, I would get up. But she normally is quiet as a mouse in her crib till I get up.

However, I don't really like sleeping that late. I feel lazy when I do, and it bothers me that people might think of me as lazy. Also, it's starting to play havoc with Grace's schedule.

She's always been a two-nap kid, at least once she weaned herself off the third nap. But the thing is, lately she hasn't been sleeping for her second nap. If I don't put her down, though, she gets extremely cranky. So I was thinking that if I get her up earlier, get breakfast in her tummy earlier, then let her play all morning before lunch, then I can just put her down for a really long nap after lunch. That way she gets plenty of play time, but enough sleep during the day as well.

So the last two days, I've been getting up just after 8am. It's been quite helpful to have Kurt home to help get me up because I totally didn't hear my alarm this morning, even though it started going off at 7:45am, a full fifteen minutes before Kurt came to wake me. I'm also trying to go to bed earlier to make up for the loss of sleep in the morning. The problem with that is I'm reading a really good book at the moment, so it's difficult to shut the book and go to sleep at night!

Yesterday I got up at 8am right as Kurt left for work, and Grace woke up 15 minutes later. We had breakfast, watched a little tv, and then it was into the bath with her. She normally takes a night bath, but we'd been out late the last few nights. I got ready as she was in the bath, and then we headed out to run errands around 9:45am. On a normal day, I wouldn't have even been up yet!!! We were done with our errands (running to Costco and the foo-foo grocery store) by noon.

After lunch, I put Gracie down for a nap. She played for a little bit, but after I sternly told her to go to sleep at 1pm, she pretty much passed out. Finally at 4pm Kurt and I went in to wake her up so we could go to dinner. Also, I was worried that any longer than a three-hour nap would lead to her not going to bed at her normal time, between 7:30 and 8pm.

The new schedule seems to be working fairly well, so I'm hoping I can keep it up. I just have to get my butt out of bed tomorrow morning by myself. I hope I can! :o)




previous * next