bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
14 February 2006

My first lasagna
I have been married nearly four and a half years, and I have been living with Kurt for almost five years. I have not always been a housewife; in fact, the first year Kurt and I lived together and were married, he was a house-husband, as the Navy only required his presence at work for less than 20 hours a week.

However, I have been a housewife for nearly four years now -- which is just amazing when I think about it. I can't believe it's been that long already!!!!

In all that time, I have never attempted one of my most favorite meals of all time -- lasagna. My stepmom makes the most fantabulous lasagna; that is, if she doesn't burn it. :o) But I have always loved her version of lasagna and never thought I could even approach the yumminess of it.

Strangely enough, her version calls for strong black coffee, which I think is why I like it so much. Too often, lasagna is sweet due to the tomatoes, and I prefer a more savory flavor.

I also never wanted to attempt lasagna because I was afraid of the time commitment and the difficulty of making it. My stepmom always told me it took a long time to make, and we all know how lazy I am. :o)

But finally I found a recipe that looked pretty darn easy. For one thing, you didn't boil the noodles ahead of time. Secondly, it was a veggie lasagna, which Kurt likes better than meat lasagna when they make both kinds on the ship. So last night I made it, and this is how it turned out!

My first lasagna!

The photo doesn't really do it justice, and I didn't think of snapping a photo till after I had already cut into it.

What did my family think of it???

Grace enjoying the lasagna

I think they enjoyed it!




previous * next