bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
12 February 2006

Olympics fun
Sometimes it's a good thing to live so close to the Canadian border.

I've been watching as much of the Olympics as I can over the last few days. Even as I type, I've got the tv turned to NBC so I can at least listen to the events. Besides, it was snowboarding a few moments ago, which I don't really like to watch.

Those boys really need to pull up their pants. They're competing in the Olympics, for crying out loud.

However, NBC's coverage of the Olympics sucks. They'll feature one sport for something like half an hour, take a million commercial breaks, and then move on to something completely different as though we haven't got the attention spans to watch anything longer.

This is why I am glad I live so close to Canada. I have been drinking in CBC's coverage of the Olympics. They'll stick to one sport till it's just about done, although they don't expect us to sit through the entire one-plus hour of coverage for the men's cross-country final, but they're not jumping from sport to sport every few minutes. Also, they don't take very many commercial breaks.

It's also a benefit that I haven't seen most of the commercials on CBC time after time after time, like I have on the American channels.

Actually I think I have the tv on NBC right now. I'll have to fix that.

The only bad thing about watching the Olympics on CBC is sometimes you end up watching coverage in the morning that NBC features at night, so it kind of backfires on you.

Have you noticed the American athletes, though??? Could the Roots logo on all of their US outerwear be any more prominent??? Grrr. No other country has a company name as prominent as the country name on their outfits. Sometimes capitalism sucks, let me tell ya.

Anyhow, I am now missing the luge, so I will have to sign off. Enjoy the Olympics, people!!!




previous * next