bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
24 December 2005

Going to the park on Christmas Eve
It's Christmas Eve... but it sure doesn't feel that way!!!

Today got up to 60 degrees, a welcome respite from the frigid (for the Northwest) temperatures we had a few weeks ago. When it was so cold, I couldn't keep my house warm enough with just the cadet heaters, and I was freezing my tuckus off! Now it's warm in the house again, for which I am quite thankful.

But since it was so warm, we went to the park today!!! We were the only ones there, aside from two young hoodlums trying to remember Eminem lyrics, since it was rather overcast and gloomy. We had a ball anyhow -- well, Kurt and I did. Grace was a bit grumpy, as she's still getting over her cold, so every time she fell we had a mini-meltdown. Fortunately, the playground has been paved with recycled tennis shoes, and it's nice and soft for her to fall on.

Everything is ready for Christmas. All the presents are wrapped and under the tree, with the exception of the gift we already gave Gracie. It's this gumball-machine thing where she can put these balls into the top of the gumball machine, and then when she presses a lever, the balls come out the bottom. She loves it! She's been playing with it for the last ten minutes straight. I didn't feel like wrapping it; it was in a funky shaped box. Call me lazy. :o)

Tonight for Christmas Eve dinner we had tamales!! Kurt usually had them during the Christmas season when he lived in Tucson, where Mexican grandmas will make them by the dozen and sell them on street corners or bring them in to work for their colleagues. I never had a tamale until I went to Tucson with him for the first time. So I felt that it wasn't really Christmas without tamales, and fortunately they sell tamales at Costco!! They were good too!!

Tomorrow for Christmas dinner we will be having SEAFOOD!! Kurt came up with the idea for seafood when we went to the commissary on payday. I'd asked him what he wanted for Christmas dinner, thinking we'd basically have a reenactment of Thanksgiving dinner. But he surprised me and said seafood!! So now we're having crab cakes, shrimp, and scallops, along with seafood stew. Yum yum!! Good stuff!!

Have a very merry Christmas!!




previous * next