bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
20 October 2005

Plethora of online friends
Hmmm. Yes, well.

I have fallen off the updating wagon yet again. This time it is not really my fault. I have been hijacked by my lovely friends from Pogo.com and forced to play many games with them while Grace is either napping or sleeping.

This leaves me with very little time to do much of anything else.

And it's weird because I didn't really get the whole "online friends" thing. I am young enough that I grew up with the internet, and I know lots of people who spend most of their time on the internet with people they only know in cyberspace.

When I was in college, I couldn't remember my friends' dorm room numbers to save my life because we always set up parties or dinners or what-have-you either through email or over IM. But those were people I had met in real life and then acquired their online contacts.

So this is really my first foray into having friends I have never met in real life. And it's surprising how long it took me to get there. I became a subscriber to Pogo.com in Decemeber of 2004 after we were in Tucson for the holidays, and Kurt decided he could no longer live without being able to play Texas Hold 'Em Poker on Pogo, which is part of the subscription package. Since it's relatively cheap over the course of the year, I allowed the transaction to be made.

Now I'm the one on it all the time, which of course is because he's not home right now. But from December to about late July, I didn't really know anyone on Pogo. I had supposedly made friends with one group of young stay-at-home moms, but I never talked to them after the first conversation.

Then I met this one girl S, who lives in New Jersey. We got to be fast friends, and we'd play together every night. From S I also met D, whom I'm really very good friends with now. In fact, he's the first person I've never met in real life that I've ever given my phone number to. But for some reason, we just get along very, very well, and I would be extremely excited to meet him, should he ever wander towards Seattle.

Now I also know Bucket, whom I met on Pogo one night when I was harassing, err, I mean, chatting with my good buddy Art in a Bingo room. Through her I've also met another nice lady, who lives in NYC, and who loves to play Texas Hold 'Em and is always trying to get me to join her games. Doesn't take much persuasion, though; I'm actually getting sort of good at Texas Hold 'Em.

So now I have all these online friends, which is really darn cool. I keep teasing Kurt that he can't play Pogo when he gets home because all these folks will think it's me and start harassing him.

Too bad I can't meet people this easily in real life....

Speaking of Kurt getting home, we are down to DAYS, folks. Ten days to be exact. I can't believe it's almost over. WEIRD!!!

It will be so odd to have someone in the house with me all the time. Oh well. I've deserved a break, methinks.




previous * next