bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
10 October 2005

No chicken pox for Grace
Oh yeah, and before I forget....

Grace got a chicken pox vaccine today!!! I guess no more chicken pox scars for her, like the big massive one I have on my forehead.

I remember when we were kids, other moms would bring their kids over to a sick kid's home in hopes of having them catch the chicken pox. I had it when I was in kindergarten, and I recuperated over at my aunt Sharon's house since my mom had to work. She smothered me under blankets, and every time the door opened, a welcome blast of cold air would hit me. But she'd yell, "Shut the door, Karyl's got chicken pox!!!" I guess she subscribed to the "sweat a fever" school of thinking.

It's just weird that a disease I had as a kid that was no big deal is now a vaccination my daughter gets.

Wow, I feel old now...

For all of you who are keeping track, Grace is now 29� inches tall and weighs 22� pounds!!

No wonder she gets heavy when I have to lug her around. She's a chunk!!!!

She's in the 75th percentile for weight and the 50th percentile for height. The slight discrepancy perplexes me a tad because she is definitely not a chubby baby. She must take after me and have a whole lotta muscle. She's a little chubby, but not like most babies I see. She has the tiniest hands and feet still, not hams like most kids her age. I find her hands so petite and cute, and am a little grossed out by other babies whose hands are much bigger.

I'm weird.

Poor Gracie got FIVE shots today!!! She screamed as the nurse was giving her the shots, but she calmed down almost immediately once they were over with. She was already scheduled for four shots, and then I asked about the flu shot. The nurse mentioned that she was already getting four shots, and that would make it five, but Grace doesn't get ill or fussy from her shots. If she does get sick this time around, it's probably from the flu shot itself. Also, she needs to go back in a month to have her booster flu shot, and Kurt will be home in time for that!! YAY!!

Is it Halloween yet?!?!?!

I need some help!!! Where in the world would I find a butternut squash?? And what the hell does one look like anyhow?? I have a couple of Moosewood Restaurant cookbooks, from the famed vegetarian restaurant, and I found this lovely autumn stew, which calls for butternut squash. I looked at the commissary and all they had were acorn squash, which grosses me out. Blecch. Although maybe that I'm adult now, I may like them. But I sure didn't when I was still living at home. Then today I looked at our local foo-foo grocery store, and all they had was pumpkin and ornamental gourds. Does butternut squash even exist?? Is it just out of season or something??

So instead of butternut squash, I got sushi and miso soup for lunch, and a bottle of wine for an afterdinner treat for the next week or so. It certainly wasn't a wasted trip.




previous * next