bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
07 August 2005

May God bless Peter Jennings
Oh my God.

I just don't know what to say. Peter Jennings died today.

My parents always watched the ABC Nightly News when I was a kid, and they made me watch too. I didn't really understand what was going on in Lebanon, and Poland, and the USSR, but the backdrop to it all was Peter Jennings' voice as smooth as silk, gliding gently throughout my childhood.

I always liked him the best out of the three newscasters, probably because he was the best looking of them all. He was so young-looking, even though he was 67 this year. He never seemed to change, although you could see how the years had weathered both Tom Brokaw and Dan Rather.

He was a constant in a very turbulent childhood. I guess many of you would think it's weird that I fixated as a child on a news anchor, but when you're not allowed to watch any other TV except the nightly news, what else do you have to fixate upon?

I haven't ever been this shaken by the death of a person I didn't know personally. Even when the Pope died, I mourned more that the world had lost a great man than to mourn for myself.

I shall mourn for Peter Jennings. He was taken from us far too soon.

May God bless him, and his family and friends.

I was up waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay too late last night.

I had the best of intentions too! The whole plan was to do my normal boogying around on Pogo, only I spent most of my time alloted chatting with my new Pogo pal S instead of actually playing the games. Since I already have my badges for the week, that was not a problem.

Then I decided I should go to bed early (I think it was 11pm at that point) when I thought I'd see who else was online. And who was on but my good buddy Art, who is selling really cool calenders for 2006 that you should buy from him. :o) So I decided to say hi to Art, and I ended up chatting with a girl that lives in Seattle but is from northern Virginia!! There were also other really cool girls there, and we had a blast comparing our kids and our birth stories and our husbands/boyfriend-type-people.

Somewhere along the line Kurt logged onto MSN Messenger, which meant that I had to talk to him.

All this means that I didn't get into bed till nearly 3am!!

I am soooooooooooooooooooooo tired today.

I also overslept something horribly this morning. I woke up around 8am when Grace made some weird noises, but when I looked at the clock I said to myself, "Oh hell no" and went back to sleep. I woke up again at 10:09am, blinked my eyes a couple of times, and hauled myself out of bed.

But the clock in my bathroom read 10:46!! I must have fallen back asleep when I blinked my eyes.

I'm such a bad mommy.

At least Grace wasn't fussing. She was a little damp in her diaper, but other than that, she was amusing herself in her crib. She's got this thing lately where she loves to chuck everything out of her crib. I know she's not supposed to have stuffed animals, etc, in the crib, but she's big enough now to shove them out of the way if they get in her way. I don't think she's going to suffocate any time soon. She's got her lovey, a little blankie, a couple of blankie teddies, and other random stuffed animals that she finds great fun in chucking over the side of her crib. I don't get how that is so fun, but as long as it amuses her while I get my beauty sleep, I guess I'm okay with it! :o)

I feel so lazy, though. I can't believe I slept so late. It's definitely early to bed with me tonight!!

Grace is ten months old today!!! Wheeeee!!!




previous * next