bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
02 August 2005

Boys and their toys
Condom cannon So what are we looking at here? Boys who have too much time on the hands, that's what!! This is a cannon that the boys on Kurt's ship made with compressed air. What's the projectile being shot out of the cannon, you ask?

Are you sure you wanna know??

It's a condom filled with blue cheese.

And what's the purpose of this "secret weapon"?? I guess the boys are getting really damn bored out there because they're going to be shooting these projectiles at another ship that they're traveling with. This other ship doesn't know yet that it's going to be lobbed at with blue-cheese-filled condoms, so it will be interesting to see what happens.

The scary part about the whole thing is the CO is really excited about the new "secret weapon," as he calls it. He even treats it as though it's one of their regular guns.

I think the boys have been out to sea too long!!

We can safely say in this instance, "Boys will be boys!"

I apologize for the lack of updates; I just haven't really been in the mood to write. Yesterday was another of my bad days, although I'm not sure why. I went to Target and got lots of new shorts for Gracie on deep discount -- 98 cents each! Plus I just looooooooooooooove Target. And the weather yesterday was beyond gorgeous. The high was only 75, and I was able to wear one of my new pairs of size 16 jeans! Go me!!!

Today it's nice and cool in the house, which is a nice change from the past couple of weeks. Summer has finally hit in full force. July began with temperatures in the 60s, and I was loving being able to wear jeans because then I didn't have to shave my legs as often! For the past two weeks it's been in the 80s, not really hot, but hot enough for me here in Washington. Tomorrow and Thursday are supposed to be nasty hot, with temperatures between 85 and 90. I am definitely looking forward to a cool-down in late August!

Although, come to think of it, I'll be in Tucson in late August. What was I thinking?!

Good news on the Kurt front -- he called on Sunday night, TWICE. The first time he could only talk for 15 minutes, which was okay by me because it's free. You can't really complain when it's free! Then he was able to call me back twenty minutes later, and when I hung up the phone, I realized we'd been talking for 48 minutes! Again, FREE! YAY!!! The only minor irritation is that when he calls me on the satellite phone, there's a bit of a delay, and he just doesn't talk very quickly anyhow. So if I happen to interject something as we're talking, he doesn't process it very well. :o) Poor guy.

I need to start going to bed earlier. I have been turning off my light around 2am the past few nights, although my lack of sleep on Sunday night was caused by phone calls from Kurt, which more than makes up for the lack of sleep. The problem is I've been reading a book that ends nearly every chapter on a cliffhanger, so you can't just shut the book and turn off the light.

I did finish Harry Potter about a week after I started it. It's a VERY good book, although I wasn't sucked into it where I couldn't put it down like some people were. I love the fact that Harry is growing and changing and becoming a man, as a boy of 16 ought to do. I'm so glad that J.K. Rowling did such a good job of maturing Harry. However, I think I need to re-read all the books again in a short period of time because there were things that were mentioned that I just didn't remember.

I guess a Harry marathon is in my future!




previous * next