bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
20 June 2005

Loss of internet access
So didja miss me?!?!

Yeah, I didn't think so. :o)

This is the problem with being a visitor in someone else's home. You can't fix anything because it's not your equipment. Not like I could fix the problem anyhow, but I know at least I would have called Verizon.

See, my dad is rather possessive of his computer. I am still not sure how I possibly was allowed to use his computer one of the first days I was here. I believe it was a fluke because it hasn't been repeated since. So I've been using my stepmom's computer in the basement. I actually liked doing that because I could use the computer late at night after Grace was asleep, and since it has DSL too, I could surf the internet with relative speed.

Then somehow Marty's computer stopped recognizing the router. At any rate, we can't access the internet using DSL. And for the longest time dial-up was an impossibility as well. This meant the ONLY contact I had with my husband (unless he was able to call) was through email on a laptop using a dial-up connection in the same room that I share with Grace. If she was napping, I couldn't use the computer because it would wake her up. If she was awake, I couldn't use the computer because I'd have to put her in her crib, and she doesn't like being there unless she's sleeping. The only time I could use the computer was REALLY late at night when she was so soundly asleep that she would sleep through my checking email. This definitely precluded the updating of my journal.

Now somehow Dad has fixed the dial-up connection (apparently the wrong password was saved in the settings), and I'm back on the internet. YAY!!!

Not like anything too interesting has happened in the meantime. I still spend most of my time curled up on the couch with a good book, with Grace tearing up months-old Newsweek issues and cruising around the furniture. We did go to the National Textile Museum, which was really quite fascinating, and it was the first time in a really long time I'd been on the Metro. Grace enjoyed it so much she fell asleep. :o)

My cousin's bat mitzvah was this weekend, and it went well. The rabbi was really good at describing the service and what was going on for us non-Jews, and the food afterward was really good. I met all kinds of relatives there, third and fourth cousins, and cousins that aren't even really related to me.

Yesterday I went back to the computer store where I used to work back in the day. Frighteningly enough, the folks that are still there remember me!!! I walked in, and all sorts of people took one look, did a double take, and realized it was me. Scary stuff. It was kind of neat, though. I'm glad I made a good impression on most folks!!!

But I return to Washington day after tomorrow. It's actually a rather sad proposition. I will definitely miss my family and being around people all the time. It will also be good to be home again. I'm just not really looking forward to another four months on my own. I guess I shouldn't have married a sailor! :o)




previous * next