bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
09 June 2005

Chillin' in Virginia
This is the life, I'm telling ya!!!

Being home is so wonderful. It takes a lot of the stress of taking care of Grace off my shoulders, and that's always nice.

Only now she's getting used to never being in her playpen, so we may have an adjustment period when we get back home.

But what's nice is there are at least three (currently four and soon to be five) other people in the house to care for Grace while I do other things. Unfortunately I won't have that luxury when I go back home and actually need to get things done, like housework. I'm enjoying not having to worry about her, though. Today Michele and I ran off to Whole Foods, and I didn't even have to take Grace with me. She stayed home and napped with her grandma to listen out for her. It's weird going out without Grace, though. I always feel like I'm missing something... or someone!!!

All I have to do while I'm here is to find ways to occupy my time. Most of the time you can find Grace and me in the living room, Grace tearing up magazines and cruising around the furniture, and me on the couch absorbed in a book. Sometimes I help out with chores around the house, but it's not usually much of a concern. I haven't really been on the computer much either, which just proves to me how bored I am when I am at home by myself. But what else can I do?

Every day I get through is one day closer to Kurt's homecoming!!!

However, I will have issues to take care of when I get home. Apparently my refrigerator is dying (for those of you who recall my issues with it), which means that I will most likely have to purchase a new one when I get home. It's more than I will want to deal with, but it's not like I have much of a choice.

I may also look into getting a push mower. I've heard the new ones are so much lighter and sharper than our grandparents' versions. I really get nervous mowing my lawn since I have to mow over so many stones, and I don't really like our big heavy gas mower. And if a push mower is light enough, I could do the hill of our sideyard, instead of having to weedwhack it. I would love to get an electric mower, but I would have to get Kurt to install a new outlet on the side of our house once he gets back.

I'm doing pretty well with spending money as well. I did buy a dress outfit on clearance at Sears before I left to wear to my cousin's bat mitzvah, but I didn't want to wear it to church on Sunday because we're getting our photos taken after church. So I bought a new outfit at Target, for once in my life not worrying about how much it cost (I am still not sure how much it was; I think it was $40 all together for the skirt and blouse). But it's so pretty!! A full knee-length brown skirt with a lilac button-down fitted blouse. It looks so good on me. I may even wear that to the bat mitzvah instead of the outfit I got at Sears. My friend had hemmed my shirt for me, but it ended up turning out not quite right. It wasn't her fault; I don't know what quite happened, but it doesn't look quite like I wanted it to.

All in all I'm having a blast here in Virginia, and I am so glad I came. I'm trying to convince my mom to come out later this summer, but I really doubt Dad will let her. He tends to fall apart when she's not here. She is definitely the rock of this family.




previous * next