bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
29 May 2005

Three screws loose!
It might have been the fan. I just spent an hour cleaning it with Costco brand disinfectant wipes and a toothbrush, and after I put it back in the window I didn't smell the odor.

I did manage to lose three out of four screws that secure the fan housing to the back of the fan screen. I am not quite sure how I managed that one; I have looked everywhere around where I was working. No screws.

I guess I have not one but three screws loose!! HAHAHAHA!

In case you were wondering, the date on the fan is 1997. Maybe I just should have bought a new one. It's not like I like that one at all; you either have both fans on exhaust or both on intake. And the right fan doesn't work very well anyhow.

OK, I'm off to play Pogo. I have to have some kind of reward for wasting an hour of my life by cleaning a window fan!!!

But I'm comfy, Mommy!

I have no idea how Grace gets herself into such weird positions!!! She's still in that position and it's been at least 15 minutes since I took the photo.

*sigh*

I have a weird baby.

In other news, I have all the fans going in the house because, if you haven't noticed, we in the Northwest have been baking under a hot spell. It was 88 on Thursday, 85 on Friday, and down to 80 today.

That may not seem so hot to most of you, but please remember -- it supposedly doesn't get warm enough here in the Northwest to require air conditioning.

And when you've had air conditioning your whole life, even though you spent 19 years in the commonwealth of Virginia (which gets pretty durn hot), it feels nasty hot where you have no air conditioning to cool you off.

Thank God I have a/c in my car.

So anyhow. I have all the fans going in the house right now. I bought a new window fan at Target a few days ago (yay Target!!), but instead of being the nice mommy and installing it in Grace's room, I put it in my room. Grace got my old window fan that predates my college days. It still works. Sort of. But now the house is slowly being permeated with the scent of... well, urine. It's not the sharp ammonia smell that knocks you on your tush when you haven't emptied the litter box as often as you should. It's the smell of urine that's dried a bit and mellowed out. I have no idea what it's from -- can't be Grace's diapers, they're in the wash, and the diaper pail is drying from a thorough scrubbing. And the smell only began after I put the window fan in her window tonight and turned it on. So it must be something from outside.

Actually, the smell is not so much urine as it is the smell that you got the first time you opened a new cassette tape. You know what I mean?? You have probably forgotten -- who owns cassettes anymore?!

Well, me, for one.

Now I am thinking, maybe it's the fan. Maybe for the one time in his life my cat peed on the fan. I wish Kurt had remembered to clean it before he left.

Anyhow.

I received in the mail two new bras today. Actually I ran down our postman (whom I secretly adore) completely by accident while showing my friend around my neighborhood, and he gave me my package. I love my postman. :o) I bought them from QVC because I am a QVC junkie, but also because I had bought this brand of bra before, liked it, and knew what size I wore. More precisely, I knew what size I didn't wear. I had bought a couple of bras previous to this that were all a 38DD, and the cups were just a teensy too small in one bra, and on both bras the band size was way too small. I took my measurement and sure enough, I am supposed to be wearing a 40. This time I ordered a 40DD. These cups are HUGE!!! And the wire is such a U shape that there is fabric that's against my chest under my breast, instead of the wire butting up right against the curve where my breast meets my chest. Plus this bra gives me cone-boobs, like Madonna in the 80s. So then I am thinking, maybe I should return them. But I am being uplifted quite well, which is a feat for any bra, and aside from the cone-boobage, I think I can deal with this bra. I haven't had to tug the back down but once or twice, and that's another feat. Now I don't know what to do. Should I just keep them and realize that they're a little big?

Ah... dilemmas!!!




previous * next