bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
14 May 2005

In praise of Walmart
I bitch and I whine (to myself, of course) that I haven't been watching the Mariners play this season. There is a game on as I write. Am I watching it??

*sigh*

I should be elected Queen of Those Who Bitch Without Good Cause.

I have some most amazing news. Here in the boonies we have finally reached the level of civilization that people in other states take for granted. Yes, folks, our local Walmart is now open 24 hours. Hurray!! Of course, now that I have a baby, I can't exactly go to Walmart in the middle of the night, but it's comforting to know that it is now an option.

"In the middle of the niiiiight... we go shopping at Jewel..."

Does this mean that if I were to leave Gracie home with Kurt once he returns home that I will be treated to the sight of a woman filling her baby's bottle up with Pepsi at 1am like I did in Virginia??

Now if only we could get a Super Walmart going here. That would be nice.

I have fallen in love with Walmart again. I was rather disillusioned with Walmart in recent months, primarily because Target is a helluva lot closer to my house. Let's see -- do I want to drive 20 minutes to Target or 40 minutes to Walmart??

But today I really wanted to go to Walmart because it is the only store I know of in my area that has shopping cart covers. I didn't want a huge one that covers the entire seat -- Grace wears clothes when we go out, so I'm not worried about her sitting on the seat. My problem is she likes to chew on the handle to the shopping cart... eewwwww!! Walmart carries a shopping cart handle cover, small enough to fit into my diaper bag, and only takes a second to install.

Plus I needed new shorts. I haven't bought new shorts (maternity shorts don't count) in probably three years. All my shorts are either too small for me or worn out. I hit the jackpot in the shorts department today, although I didn't think I had at first. The women's department (ie, the fat lady's area) had a rack of shorts, but very few 18Ws. Everything seemed to be a 20W or larger. I'm not THAT big, folks! I found one pair of 18Ws that looked promising. Then I decided to try the misses' department and found two more pairs of shorts (well, one's a pair of capris) that are a size 18.

A size 18 and a size 18W aren't the same thing. Generally, women's sizes are cut to accommodate a woman who carries her weight in her middle, meaning she has no waist. I have a waist, so buying women's clothing sometimes gets frustrating because I end up with a huge gap in the back of my pants. A size 18 sometimes are cut small, and generally if they aren't made of a stretch material I probably can't fit into them.

The capris -- I've got to tell you about capris. When the Good Lord was creating me, He blessed me with many things: a loving family, pretty hair, nice eyes, full lips, a voluptuous figure, and a liberal helping of booksmarts. What he did NOT bless me with were legs of a normal length. When capris first came into fashion, I got all excited because now I could wear long shorts in the summer so that my thighs wouldn't rub together. That excitement quickly dissipated when I realized that the inseam of most capris (21" or so) caused them to hit me right at the ankle. I was, in effect, wearing highwaters. Not a good look. The capris I bought today (inseam = 17") are really supposed to look like the Bermuda shorts in the GAP commercial, reaching to just below one's knee. On me, they hit me halfway between the knee and the ankle.

Don't even mention crop pants to me. Gahh.

So why do I love Walmart so much?? Two pairs of shorts and a pair of capris = $30. My entire bill came to a whopping $50, but I got a TON of stuff for that price. More washcloths to wipe Grace's face off as she eats, more sippy cups, a few more bottles, the shopping cart cover, a couple of 8x10 photo frames ($2 each! And they're not cheesy looking either!), and some random odds and ends for my trip to Virginia.

I did buy the coolest thing EVER at Walmart today. It's an FM transmitter for my mp3 player so I can play my mp3s through my car or home stereo! How cool is that?! I came home and immediately set it up, and listened to my mp3s for the next few hours. Ahhhhh.

Damn, I wish I'd had an mp3 player in college. I used to work in my college library repairing books, and my boss would let me listen to my CD player. If only I'd had an mp3 player then!!!

In case you're wondering, yes, I will be updating very regularly while Kurt is gone. Now that I have no one to talk to, my "verbal diarrhea" (as my father so elegantly puts it) will have to be relieved via the written word. So enjoy! :o)




previous * next