bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
04 November 2003

Homecoming finally
Tomorrow by this time, Kurt will be home.

What more do I say to that?? I can't believe seven months has passed by so quickly. I know I moaned and whined because the time was passing by so slowly, but at the time it was. I just wanted time to hurry up and go by.

And here the time is gone.

No more waiting.

It's going to be weird having him in my life again. I've spent seven months waiting for him to come back to me, and now I won't have anything to wait for. It's a strange thought.

I know I have changed a great deal since he's been gone, seeing as this is the first time in my life I have been on my own. I've done a lot of growing and maturing, and I'm not the same woman he left behind.

And I worry that I will be too independent now. I know how to do almost everything that I need done around here, and I hope I can hold back from being impatient with him when he wants to help around the house. I have to let him do things and realize that I don't have to do it all anymore.

You would think his homecoming would be a whole lot simpler than this.

Mostly I'm excited and joyous that he's coming home. I can show him around this area, all the neat little places I have discovered with my friends. We have our own home to maintain and even upgrade, if we want to. I'll have someone to cuddle with me and watch tv -- although that could be a slight problem since I'm going to have to relinquish absolute control over the remote.

And finally I can go back to feeling like a real wife. During the past few months, it's been hard to remember that I have a husband because he was so far away. That's not to say I've done anything to jeopardize my marriage, but it's just hard to remember there IS someone out there that I have pledged myself to because it's been so long since I've seen him. The only evidence I had for so long was simply words on my computer screen in his daily emails.

I am a bit stressed at the same time, however. The whole homecoming thing is causing me some anxiety because I don't know what all is going to happen. I've never been to a homecoming -- not that I can recall, seeing as my father was on shore duty from the time I was five years old. I don't do very well with the unknown, but I know that it will all work out.

So by this time tomorrow, by 7pm PST, I will have my husband back, and we should be here in our own home, together again.

That sounds so very wonderful. :o)




previous * next