bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2001-04-23

Blind leading the blind
On Friday when Kurt and I were making our way to Portsmouth, I realized I'd left my glasses and an extra pair of contacts (I was going to change them this weekend) back at my dorm room. Kurt asked if I wanted to go back, but I said, screw it... just go home.

Oh how wrong I was to do that.

Saturday night my eyes got really dry, partly because my contacts were getting old, and partly because I kept falling asleep on the way home from my mother's house. I am not one of those people that can sleep easily in my contacts -- a nap is ok, but I can't sleep through the night.

I went to take out my contacts when we got back home, and the left one came out fine. I grabbed the right one, and only half of it came out. For a while I couldn't find the other half of the contact and almost panicked, but it finally came out too.

So now my right contact was ripped beyond even thinking of wearing it again. I wasn't about to wear only one contact -- my eyes are far too bad for that. I went to see if Kurt's contacts were anything near my prescription, and found out that my right eye is three times worse than his eyes.

All this meant that I went without being able to see all day yesterday. My eyes are so bad that I can only see about six inches in front of me clearly. Wherever we went, I stared around me seeing only fuzz. When we went to MacArthur Center and Kurt spotted Rose and Royall, I didn't know why he was running off and greeting someone else in the mall till I squinted my eyes really hard and realized that indeterminate shape was Rose.

And Kurt had the gall to ask me if I wanted to go to the movies last night. Grr... :o)

The whole way home last night all I could see was the lights of the cars and the streets as big balls of twinkling Christmas lights. Sometimes one ball would overlap another and obliterate it, and other times the balls of light would be transparent. It was annoying not being able to see!

I was so glad to get back to my room and grab my glasses. I could SEE!!

**********

NO MORE PROGRAMS FOR ME!! WOO HOO!!!! I regret very much having become a computer science major. It's just way too hard for me. My brain isn't wired that way. Give me a paper to write, give me a book to read, give me research to do for a paper, and I'm fine. Give me a program to do and I'm lost. Bad choice on the major.

I chose my major partly because I used to really enjoy it. The classes were fun at first, and easy for me since I had taken intro to computer science in high school. I had great friends in the department, the professors didn't really take themselves or their classes seriously, and it was just a lot of fun all around. Then I got higher up in computer science and realized I just can't do it. I'm not even sure how I made it this far... but now I'm done.

The other reason why I chose my major was my father was encouraging me to get a major in something that would be marketable once I got out. So I chose computer science because it was something my father is interested in, something that he would be really proud of me for doing, rather than English which I am really good at.

And it was really cool to hear the pride in his voice when he'd have me to his office in the Pentagon for lunch, and he'd introduce me to the Admiral and everyone else as his daughter who was majoring in computer science.

Now it's almost over, and I feel I somewhat wasted my time here. I want to go into library sciences, but it would have been better for me to major in English or history for what I want to do. People say they need technology people all the time in libraries, but I can't really do what they would like me to -- they need an IT major.

At least I got my minor in something I'm interested in... thank goodness for linguistics! :o)




previous * next