bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2001-04-20

The perfect librarian
I come up with all these rants and raves and insightful things when I'm on the way to class or to dinner or just sitting around vegetating. Of course, I get all these ideas when I'm the farthest from a computer, meaning that I don't get them out to my diary. Very frustrating.

Random aside... I like the name Sunni. I know it's the name of a girl in that one comic strip, but I like the name. But I don't think I would ever name my kid that.

Last night I felt so weird. I came here to the lab to finish my essay that was due this afternoon, and I was here till about 11pm. Around 10.30 I started feeling disoriented, like my eyes weren't working right, and I felt almost that woozy feeling you get when you're drunk, but I hadn't had anything to drink. I had a bad headache, and I was exhausted as if I hadn't slept for days. I left the lab and somehow got home. I don't really remember the walk home; I remember stumbling like I couldn't walk, but that's about it. I got home and started to tear up for no reason... and then when I went to bed I couldn't fall asleep. I still feel really tired, even though I got more than eight hours' rest, and my headache is with me still. I can't wait until I get to Kurt's tonight so I can pass out and sleep.

I had to change my paper topic for my linguistics class. Another girl and I wanted to do Basque (language planning and politics), but when I went to the library everything except the Basque/English dictionaries were checked out. When I went to turn in my essay due today, I told the professor that and he told me another person was also doing that topic. So I suggested that I change my topic since I didn't really want to have to work out the logistics of trying to share information and sources with two other people. I like to have the books right in front of me when I write, and I like to write at the last moment. So now I'm to write on the politics of language planning for the European Union. I don't know about y'all, but I think this is a fascinating topic. I mean, here they are, taking a a good chunk of a continent with very different cultures and languages and trying to make something like the United States out of it in terms of diversity but still maintaining to some degree the autonomy of each member state. So what language should be in use?? And this is NOT an easy question. If you use French, the Spaniards will be offended. English is a lingua franca over the entire world, but you know that French people do not hold English in high esteem. Italian? Well, who knows Italian other than Italians?? What about Spanish? And that's excluding all the other vernaculars in the region, like Gaelic and Basque and Frisian... So should they all go to one language? Should they have a core of languages to speak? Which languages should be included in this core? How does one NOT offend all the speakers of a language, say French, if it gets excluded from this core?? How do you come to a consensus with THAT many people?! And the implications for all this is far-reaching. It's amazing stuff.

Yeah, I'm a nerd. :o) My boss told me one day when she caught me absorbed in reading the Oxford English Dictionary when I was supposed to be sending it to the bindery that I would make a wonderful librarian.

I took it as a compliment. :o)




previous * next