bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2001-01-26

Insomnia issues
I'm supposed to be writing in my paper journal. I'm supposed to be figuring out how the version of the Gospel of Thomas that I have for Christian Origins compares with the version I have for Christianity so that I can sell the one back for another $20. I'm supposed to be napping.

I forgot my wallet in the room this morning. Thank God for suitemates. Fuzzius Tomatus let me into the dorm this morning with her card after class, and her roommate spotted me a meal for breakfast so I wouldn't starve.

I don't know what's been wrong with me lately. Maybe it's the lack of sleep. I tried to go to bed night before last around 11am, considering I get up before 7am on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I shooed everyone out, and had peace and quiet in my mostly dark room (had to leave a light on for Stina since there's stuff everywhere on the floor, and I didn't want her to kill herself coming back in). I just laid there. Mind racing. About nothing! I finally resorted to Nytol around 11:35. Seven hours of sleep is good, right? Stina came home and started typing on her computer, which made me happy because usually it lulls me to sleep. No such luck this time. She went to bed somewhere around 12:15am, and it was only then that the Nytol kicked in. So again, just six hours of sleep for me.

Most people are ok on six hours of sleep. I'm ok on six hours of sleep if I have nights bracketing that one where I sleep at least eight hours. Or I take a nap. I'm all about naps. But lately, all week in fact, six hours have been the norm.

Maybe I'm overtired.

I finally have clubbing clothes -- or at least the top half of a good clubbing outfit. Stina went out with her parents to the outlets yesterday. Stina's parents can smell an excellent deal from at least twenty miles. Hit or Miss is going out of business, at least that particular outlet, and she got me two green (one neon, one just green and flowery and pretty) shirts for not much more than $2 for both. So now I have a neon green reptile print shirt that would be just perfect for clubbing. I need pants now. But I don't even want to go there...

I was terribly scared last night. Kurt and I got into a minor tiff, something stupid, as usual, and we hung up not too terribly thrilled with one another. Then the whole of us went out to the delis because it was Suzanne's birthday, and when I got back I called Kurt because I wanted to tell him I love him. There was no answer at his house. There was no answer on his cell phone. I called his house again -- maybe he was out taking the dog out. I got worried. I called his house again after about 30 minutes. Still no answer. I figured he was angry, he didn't want to talk to me, he was laying there in bed listening to me leave messages on his machine. But he'd never done that before, and I couldn't imagine him doing that. Not something he could do, just not part of his personality. But I was scared. I couldn't really concentrate on my reading, but I tried my best. And took a long hot shower. He called then and explained to Stina that he'd been at the movies. He reassured me that he would never ignore me like that, and life was so bright then. No problems falling asleep last night...

I need a nap already. But it's almost time for class... maybe naptime then...




previous * next