bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-12-18

Insomnia produces random wackiness
Second entry today... what's wrong with me, man???

I still haven't managed to squeeze in a nap, which rather sucks my ass, as my roommate is fond of saying. She's napping right now too, which makes her look deceptively cute and sweet. But I know better. Bwahahaha.

OK, really. I have to explain something about my roommate Stina to all you folks before you get the wrong idea. Stina and I get along great, at least I think we do. We hang out a fair amount, I can tell her stuff that is confidential in nature without fear of her blabbing it, and I can trust her with my voicemail box and password so she can clear it out when our RA starts sending random messages. But we tease each other all the time because being serious is just boring. So she's my roommate bitch, and I'm her wannabe-redhead roommate with no brains, etc and so on. She's actually one of the coolest people here on campus, along with Fuzzy Tomato, Fuzzy's roommate Q, and Liad, with whom I don't spend nearly enough time. Besides, you know you and your roommate have bonded when you can giggle about the fact that you JUST CANNOT DO the Road to the Isles in Folk Dance I -- instead, you know you are the retarded children in the class who trip over each other's feet. :o)

Other fun things to do with Fuzzy and Stina when we're procrastinating are jaunts down into Colonial Williamsburg to spend way too much money on jewelry and other fun stuff, trips to Aromas for some damn good coffee and hopefully a Professor Hutton sighting (cuz he's just the coolest professor), and, if we have a car, a run out to Target. I've never really had girl friends before, and it's kind of neat having them. Not that any of us are very girly... I think Stina would take the prize for that with her desire for a cotton candy pink angora sweater (don't ask). Fuzzy and I just wouldn't dream of wearing pink. :o)

Speaking of stuff that just cracks my shit up, I have seen the Staples commercial with that robot about a hundred times this weekend, and I just am massively in love with it. It's got these employees for Staples who have decided to have a robot in their tech department to sell stuff, and a customer comes up and wants to get a printer for his brother. The robot tries to convince the man to buy something else, and when he fails, he says, "You can't have her! I love her." But the man wrestles the printer away from the robot, who dejectedly puts his head down and murmurs, "Weeping... weeping..." Then the Staples employees come to the rescue -- they've found a replacement, a six-socket surge protector. When they hold up the surge protector, the robot growls like a man who sees a hot woman in a bikini walk by. It's just the funniest thing ever!!! Much better than last year's Gap commercials...

Ha ha.. I'm going to my mother's house and you're not!!! It's cool living so close to my mom's because then I get to see her a lot more than I have in all the years before I got to college. She's making dinner tonight, from scratch (or almost) as usual. I'm also taking Stina with me because Stina loves my mother's cat. There's one called the Baby (her real name is Carla, but I like the Baby better) that is a small grey tabby, and she loves to just sit on Stina's lap and cuddle and purr. And Stina's not even a cat lover!! I think the Baby might end up making her one... Hehehehe. Evil plan #276 looks to be quite successful... :o)

BEST news of the day. Turned in my books today to get money back, and usually I get shafted very painfully when it comes to that. The sucky part was I could only return two books (one that I couldn't return was a big expensive one, but "there's a new edition coming out next year..." Bastards...), but for those two books I made $44!! Damn good money. Once I returned a book that I bought new for $80, didn't touch (literally), and made like $15 on at the end of the semester. *sigh*

Tomorrow is Kurt's and my 11-month-aversary. Tres cool, tres cool. We're not doing anything special -- maybe go out to eat at Mongolian BBQ if anyone cares to join us, maybe just a jaunt down DoG St... Maybe just sleep... zzzzzzzz..... But it's so cool to be part of a couple with him. We've pretty much fought through all the bullshit inherent in a relationship already, and we're just very comfortable with one another. Staying at his apartment, I don't feel like a guest but rather that it's my home too, and I have a tendency of referring to things as "ours." That could be bad... overstepping my bounds and all that. The coolest thing was yesterday when Kurt and I stopped by Momma's to give her her Christmas present, and she had a Christmas card from her to "Karyl and Kurt." I don't think I've ever gotten a "to the both of you" card before, and it was quite the neatest feeling. :o) Yes, I'm crazy... crazy in love!!! Next month, a whole year together... WOW!




previous * next