bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-08-29

If you're wacky and you know it....
Nothing like the stench of hair dye to get the creative juices flowing...

Well, here I am back in da Burg, and guess what. It rained. This is, of course, Where-It-Always-Rains da Burg. It even rained when I was moving in -- thankfully not too badly.

We've got our room almost set up, which is amusing since my roommate's been here a week and a half, and I've been here three days. You would think we'd be organized. No such luck. But soon... soon...

I am really missing Kurt. It didn't really help spending two weeks in constant company with him -- I guess maybe that wasn't the best idea. I really enjoyed being with him because I love him so much, but it's hard being away from him now. Friday will come soon enough, I guess.

So begins my senior year of college. Now I have to worry about getting a job, finding a place to live, looking for a car to drive... Scary stuff. A friend of my roommate's already has an interview with the Peace Corps this Friday. Other people I know have already been looking for a job for a while. I know I should really get on the ball...

It's good to be back in school, though. No more worrying about what time I've got to be home so Dad doesn't get mad, no more fretting about my family getting mad at me for various things, and no more working at the computer store for me. Instead I'll be working for a very old, cranky, chain-smoking woman who (usually) isn't too bad -- until she starts getting mad at researchers or her co-workers.

When we were at the mall last night, we went into Hot Topic, and I briefly flirted with the idea of dyeing my hair green -- temporarily, of course. But I couldn't do it... I'm such a wuss. It's partly because I can't be going to job interviews with green hair -- I don't think they'd appreciate that. The other part is I don't want people to think I'm trying to be someone I'm not. I'm just a regular girl -- not a goth, or a diva, or a hippie, or anything. You can't really categorize me because I'm just me. Rather plain. But that's a good thing. I don't want to seem like a wannabe, or have people think I'm trying to join into the theatre crowd just because I have green hair. I just thought it'd be a cool colour for my hair, is all.

Too many people are too judgmental when it comes to things like that. I have known people in my life to take one look at a person and say, "Well, I'm not going to be friends with him (her) because s/he's a goth, or s/he has weird hair," or some equally inane reason.

Whatever happened to just getting to know people for who they are?? Sometimes on this campus I think most of the folks don't want to talk to me because I'm a "nerd." I'm a computer science major that doesn't care much for trends -- I guess I could be called a nerd. A lot of folks on this campus go in for trends and what's cool, and sometimes it seems to be that those folks don't want to have anything to do with the folks that aren't like them.

We are all different... we are all beautiful... we are all unique. That's what makes the world go 'round.

Besides, if the male hippopotamus didn't think the female hippotamus was beautiful, we'd have no more hippopotami!!! Yet another way of saying "Beauty is in the eye of the beer holder... I mean, beholder."

The stench of hair dye does weird things to me....




previous * next