bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-08-26

On the move
I think I have mentioned on here, once or twice, that I HATE PACKING!! And yet, here I am again, packing up my stuff. This is my own damn fault, the result of deciding to spend two weeks just lazing around and doing nothing here at my boy's place.

Things didn't work out quite the way I'd planned. I wanted to spend lazy days by the pool, but we only went once. But in a way, that's a good thing. I got to spend four wonderful days with my sister Michele at her place in North Carolina, which got me out of the state of Virginia for the first time in quite some time. (Various trips to DC just don't count.) I was able to spend about twenty-four hours with my roommate Cristina -- including some very wet hours moving her in to our room. I didn't mind the wet and the rain -- it could have been very muggy, very hot, and very nasty out, somewhat like moving in my freshman year.

I also got to spend a lot of time getting closer to Kurt. A lot of people wouldn't think that we'd work well together, and I know there are those that have their objections. But to be honest, I think he's the best thing to come 'round -- EVER. At least in my short life. We have arguments, we have spats, we're rude and inconsiderate to one another, especially on short rations of sleep. But most of the time, we're goofing off, hugging one another, constantly telling one another that we love each other. Sappy, yes I know.

It's the little things that show he cares. Like finding the September issue of Cosmo in Barnes and Noble when I wasn't paying attention. Like making me dinner, then ALSO cleaning the kitchen even though the rule is "I cook, you clean." Like letting me sleep till I wake up. Like wanting me to wake him up when I get scared, or have a bad dream, or even if I'm just cold and I need his body warmth. It's such a wonderful feeling to be loved like that...

And now I'm going back to school... yeah, I'll miss him. But it's a completely different world at school, and I'm surrounded by some really wonderful people -- my roommate, my suitemates for this year, my best friend Corey, other good friends of mine like Angela and Liza and some of the boys on Jeff Base, and the nifty people in skiffy.

So why am I so depressed?? Well, I think it's the whole moving issue.

I know, I know... When I was a Navy brat I wasn't a REAL Navy brat. None of that "each year a different school" stuff for my family. But I did move around the country -- three years in a row I was a new student.

I would just love to stay in one place. Earlier this summer, I was so comfy in my room back home. I had made it my own, and I loved it. Now I'm comfortable at Kurt's -- with his stuff mingled with mine and not caring. Once I get to school it'll be the same with Stina.

But. May will come far too soon, and I'll be moving. AGAIN. Hopefully, my next move will be somewhat permanent, since I'll be moving out into the REAL WORLD. Every time I've moved, I've only stayed in that place for a maximum of four years, and I'm tired of being new.

I guess that's why I want to go back to DC so badly. My friend got a job in DC after spending most of his life in Virginia Beach, and he was one of the few in his office that actually moved from out of the area to DC to work at that company. He marveled that people would want to go back to where they spent their high school years and always said that these people ought to have gone elsewhere to spread their wings.

I have spread my wings with all the places I've gone. I have no real interest in going somewhere new (unless you're giving me an all-expenses-paid trip to Europe that includes my roomie!). Let me stay in DC. Or even Hampton Roads. Somewhere familiar where I can settle down, just for a few years, just for something more than four years.

Just let me put down roots somewhere that don't have to be broken away quite so quickly.




previous * next