bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-07-21

Laughter is the best medicine
"I don't mind the sun sometimes
The images it shows
I can taste you on my lips and smell you in my clothes
Cinnamy and sugary and softly spoken lies
You never know just how you look through other people's eyes"

That's my biggest problem... I never know what people think of me. Some people think I'm annoying as hell, some people think I'm a cool person, some people seek me out, some people ignore me. And then something happens to where those same people who ignore me, decide they want to be around me. Or the people who like to be around me then decide I'm the most annoying person on the planet. So what's the answer?? I have no idea. I'll just go on being me, try not to be too annoying, and see what happens.

It's amusing my sister Michele thinks my laugh is so cool. When I was in middle school, I was in band, and we were all given awards of some kind by the graduating eighth graders. I got "Weirdest Laugh." No kidding. So sometimes I'm self-conscious about it, because when I laugh it's not this little ladylike titter.... It's a full-blown, guffawing belly-laugh. Really loud, too.

But it's true, my laugh is contagious. One of my good memories of my stepmom happened when we were living in Illinois, and it was "take your daughter to work" day or something like that, so I went to work with Marty. She took me to lunch on base (she was active duty Navy at the time) at McDonald's, and something along the way just set me off. I can't remember now what it was, but I just cracked up. Almost died laughing right there in front of Mickey D's. My stepmom kept saying, "Karyl, are you ok?? Honey, stop laughing so hard. Sssshhh!!!" People were looking at me funny, but I just couldn't stop laughing, and finally she started to grin too.

Another thing -- my brother Mark has the ability to make people bust a gut just by his laughter. One time Mark wanted to sing me a song that his buddy John had taught him, something about a genie with a ten-foot weenie. I told him no, Marty told him no, not in her house. Then he says, "Let's go outside!" Marty just glared at him at that point, but he was already giggling. He began to sing the song, the genie with the ten-foot weenie, Marty pretended to act all shocked, and Mark lost it. He couldn't sing anymore because he was cracking up. I had tears springing from my eyes and my sides were killing me, and then Dad comes down the stairs wanting to know what the devil was going on. So I told him about the genie with the ten-foot weenie through my laughter, and he tried to act mad at Mark but just ended up laughing as well. So my whole family was gathered in the kitchen, laughing maniacally. Anyone watching the scene would have thought we were idiots. :o)

But folks, it is true... laughter IS the best medicine! And yes, I will eat that damn cookie!!! :o)




previous * next