bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-07-05

It's WAY too late for me to be up
What a Fourth of July... My parents are currently in Pennsylvania, and I watched Independence Day for company. The cats enjoyed that -- I haven't spent much time with them lately.

The cool thing is I got a LOT accomplished at work for my roommate's final birthday present. That's the advantage of working in the phone room, answering only about twenty calls the entire day from 10am to 5pm. In other words, I got paid $9/hr to work on my creative stuff, which is a small consolation for not getting paid time and a half for a federal holiday. I swear my store is run by communistic bastards. :o) Over 70 people called to see if we were open today -- the guy who was manning the main line counted them. Only about 20 people called to see if we had Diablo II in stock, which surprised me. When we got the shipment in, there was a full shopping cart full of boxes, and I didn't think we'd sell out of them for a few days. Boy, was I wrong! They were gone before noon. All of them. Shervan finally had to make a sign that says, "We are out of stock on Diablo II, no matter how hard you look." Apparently people don't believe him when he tells them we're out of stock, and want to see where it's kept as proof.

Of course, it didn't help that some of the copies of Diablo II that we got in were bad. Instead of one install CD, one play CD, and one cinematics CD, some boxes had two installs, a cinematics, and no play. So they got the damn game set up but couldn't play. And they weren't happy. It was funny -- this one guy came in with a software package in a bag, and as soon as he got up to my spot at the customer service counter, I said, "Lemme guess -- two installs and no play." He looked at me in astonishment, and asked, "How did you know?!" Heh. I'm psychic. Or at least that's what I told him.

Work can be so much fun... I swear, some of the customers think I'm insane. So do my coworkers, since I'll talk to a lot of the customers. I get bored. I also start to sing along with the muzak, especially with the Backstreet Boys song, "I Want It That Way" or whatever it's called. Of course, when I'm jamming to that particular song, I have to make sure I don't sing the alternate lyrics that my friend Angela taught me. They're, ahem, inappropriate. :o)

Oh, every morning on the way to work I compile a list in my head of things I hate about metro DC drivers. A partial listing:

1) Morons who brake when there's no one ahead of them because they don't understand that if you let off the gas, you will slow down.
2) People who don't maintain the speed limit going up this hill near my house.
3) Jerks on I-66 that wait till the last second to merge.
4) Rude people on Pickett Rd during rush hour that don't want to wait in the left turn lane, and so they cut in right before the light so they can turn.
5) People who don't use turn signals.
6) Getting stuck behind old people when I'm late to work.
7) People who get scared in the rain because it NEVER rains in DC.
8) Inconsiderate drivers who won't let folks merge into their lane because they can't spare the extra few seconds.
9) People who drive expensive cars who think they own the world, as in the guy in the Ferrari last week who parked in the fire lane because his car was too good for a regular parking spot.

And I can't think of a tenth. So it'll have to stay at nine. But more to come, later.

Now on to the important stuff. I have been realizing lately how wonderful Kurt is to me, and how glad I am to be with him. There is no better man out there, and we are so well-suited for one another that it's not funny. He understands that most of the time it's hard for me to accept his love unconditionally, but instead of losing patience with me, he just keeps loving me. He's patient. He is just a wonderful partner to have beside me, and I am just thankful that we were able to be together. I love you, Kurt!




previous * next