bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
2000-06-10

Looooooong day!
I have all these great ideas for diary entries when I'm driving to and from work, or when I'm eating lunch alone in the break room. But then by the time I get home, it's all gone. Poof.

Work is starting to wear on me. My body can't take standing for so long. Today was especially bad -- since I got there last of all the customer service reps, I got last dibs on lunch, which meant I got stuck with 4pm. It's kind of cool in a way that I don't go to lunch till that late because then when I get back at 5pm, I only work about an hour and a half more before I go upstairs to count out my till. But at the same time, that means I stood on my feet for six hours before I got a chance to sit down... and it was BUSY today. This one lady got really on my nerves because... well... let me explain. She had a legitimate gripe -- we delivered a laptop to her by courier, but they left it out on her doorstop in the rain. Genius work there. So she wanted an exchange. Fair 'nuff. She also wanted a memory upgrade, and she told she'd had to go to another store to purchase the memory. I told her we charge $29 to install RAM -- she asked to talk to Florence, our head cashier, because Florence knew all about her problem and all sorts of stuff. I told her Florence has nothing to do with our department, but she still wanted to talk to Florence. Somehow, Florence sweet-talked our general manager into waiving the installation fee.... What pissed me off is not that she went over my head, but she went over my head to a person that isn't even in my department and SHOULD have no control over us. She knew she'd pissed me off, so she tried to smooth things over with flattery by telling me how nicely I'd applied my makeup, and where did I learn to do that, and so on. Flattery. Bah. It didn't get her anywhere...

Yesterday I had the GLORIOUS idea of laying outside on Dad's hammock. He's got one of those that has the cover built in, so you're not laying directly on the ropes. And there's also an attached pillow. Well, I was wearing a tank top and jeans... and the hammock was in the sunlight in the 95 degree heat we were having. I was really tired... and the heat just put me to sleep. Oh it was heavenly!! My brother says I was asleep for two hours... The sun, soaking up rays, the heat.... And the mosquitos. I am now COVERED with mosquito bites!! All over my left arm, especially. Well, it was a good idea in theory.... :o)

Enough for now; Dad's about to steal the net access from me!! Take care of yourself!!!!




previous * next