bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
02 August 2006

Wise words
Small bit of wisdom for the day (seen on someone's Pogo profile):

Men have two emotions: Horny and Hungry. If you see a man without an erection, make him a sandwich.

That made me giggle out loud.

I had quite the interesting experience today....

I decided, against my better judgment, to go to the commissary. It's not the best of days to go, as it is military payday, but Grace was nearly out of milk. Plus I was going to go to the foo-foo grocery store to get out of the house; I may as well run an errand I actually need to do.

As I pulled up, I noticed the parking lot was full; I saw no empty spaces on the aisle that tends to have at least a few. It's to be expected; it's what I get for going on payday. So I picked an aisle to go down, and hit pay dirt. There were three cars all putting their packages away at the same time, so my wait time for a spot would be minimal.

I was waiting probably about a minute for one woman to figure out if she was leaving or not (she was already in her car with the door shut, so I don't know what all she was doing), when I noticed another car just about to pull out on the other side of the aisle. I switched my blinker from right-turn to left, and all of a sudden someone's horn blares.

I wasn't quite sure which car had honked, but then a very pregnant woman comes boiling out of the SUV I happened to be blocking. She then proceeds to scream at me, "I have a doctor's appointment! Can't you get out of the way?!?" while gesturing at her very pregnant belly. I sort of just blinked at her (I hadn't been blocking them for more than a minute at this point), and then replied, "I'm sorry, ma'am, I'm waiting for a spot. Maybe you should try to be more patient."

For my pains, the woman angrily flipped me off through her car window, since she'd gotten back in as I was talking.

Niiiiiice.... I just wonder what kind of momma such an angry woman is going to make.

One wonders why anyone with an important appointment to keep would even go within a mile of the commissary on payday. Also, as soon as the pregnant woman flipped me off, the person I was waiting for pulled out and I parked in the vacant spot. The angry people then took another two minutes to pull out of their spot and leave. Guess they weren't in such a hurry after all.

In the midst of my cleaning frenzy yesterday (yeah, I don't know what was wrong with me either), I forgot to tell you the coolest thing!!!

See, the brakes on my car were really, really bad. I love my car, I do. But it hasn't seen the inside of a car repair shop since we moved from Virginia and we no longer got free oil changes. I'm married to a very handy man; why would I go to a dealership or a Jiffy Lube when my husband can do all that himself?

He proved over the weekend that he's much more useful than just as a oil-change guy. He can do complex car repair as well!

My brakes had started squeaking about a week beforehand, and Kurt was eager to check them out as he's going out to sea next week, and when he's gone, I usually just drive my car all the time. So it was definitely a safety issue.

Kurt called around, got quotes on new brakes, and decided to get new semi-metallic brakes from a car parts store for $27. I was quite surprised they were so cheap; I'm so used to paying out the nose for labor when you take your car in.

When we got home from the parts store (we'd taken Kurt's truck everywhere because he had my car up on blocks), Kurt took the old brakes off my front wheels and found this:

This is how bad my car's front brakes were

Yeah. NOT GOOD.

So now I have spankin' new brakes on my car, installed by my very handy (and rather handsome) husband who managed to save us at least $100 by doing it himself. You just can't beat it!

Happy August, all!




previous * next