bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
10 June 2006

Fun with kids and poo
It was not something I would care to deal with first thing in the morning...

I was sitting on the couch, reading my newspaper and drinking my coffee, while Miss Gracie watched tv from her playpen. Actually, she doesn't really watch tv; generally she's too busy playing with all the toys that have accumulated in her playpen. There isn't much room for her in there anymore.

Then Kurt calls me, so I lounge on the couch chatting with him. All of a sudden, Grace's finger extends over the edge of the playpen and into my face. And boy, does her finger STINK!!!

Sure enough, it was covered in poo.

I looked down, and I could see poo leaking out of the edge of her diaper. It was also all over a pillow she's stolen from the couch and pulled into her playpen with her.

That's not a very auspicious start to a morning.

Fortunately, we very rarely experience poo in this household outside of a baby's diaper, where it belongs. This is the closest we've gotten to a blow-out, and I wouldn't even count this as one. I've been lucky, I know.

Don't ya just love cleaning up after kids???

Speaking of cleaning up after someone or something... I think my dog needs a serious shave. He's leaving bits of himself everywhere he goes! There are about twenty or thirty clumps of hair on my carpet throughout the house, and I live in a very small house.

Maybe I should pick up all the clumps of hair and knit me a new dog.

I'm going to try to brush him and see if that helps. His getting shaved is just going to have to wait till Kurt gets home. I hate taking him in myself because then I have to control a very wiggly dog who is no longer used to being on a leash along with a very wiggly toddler who doesn't like to listen to me.

The combination has been nearly fatal in cases.

Today I am staying home!! There, I have put my foot down!! *thud* Every day this week I have gone somewhere, and for someone as much of a homebody as I am, that's really odd. It's just that people kept inviting me places! That's a good thing, but I think today will be a great day for me to get to know my couch again after so long a hiatus.

I finished stitching my Care Bear mini-decorations that I was stitching for Grace's room. Once I get a few of them (I did 8 or 9) framed up, I'll post photos. Now I'm on to a Amish countryside scene I must have bought at least 10 years ago. It's by Charles Wysocki. This is at least the second design of his that I've done in the past few years; I also did Frederick the Literate, a cat snuggled amongst books on a bookshelf, for my friend JD.

My Charles Wysocki kitI went searching for an image of the Charles Wysocki print I'm now stitching (that I bought for $15.99 years ago), and now I'm mad at myself for having opened it!! There is the exact same kit selling on eBay for $100!!! Geez! I could have made some good money on this kit! As you can see, I've already started stitching it, so it's not like I can sell it now.

Oh well. I think I'd rather stitch it and cherish it myself anyhow.




previous * next