bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
15 May 2007

Mishap with scissors
Did you know that scissors could be more dangerous than knives???

I seem to have that problem...

I also chose the wrong day to go to the post office yesterday. Not only did the rates change for stamps, but rates for everything was increased. I managed to spend $25 on sending two parcels and two envelopes, which is just insane.

Thankfully Kurt will be coming home soon, which means far fewer trips to the post office.

I arrived at the post office just after the postmaster's lunch time, and by then I was starving. I couldn't decide whether to go to McDonald's and have a picnic on the beach like we did a few weeks ago, or whether I just wanted to go to the foo-foo grocery store and eat there. The postmaster made up my mind for me and told me to eat at the grocery store.

I needed to go to the grocery store anyway because I had to get things for this dish I wanted to make for dinner, with pasta and bacon and peas and zucchini. Mmmm yummy. But I didn't have any fresh veggies for it.

I was wandering around the produce department looking for what I needed when I finally found the zucchini. There was an employee restocking the zucchini (and boy, did they look terrible!! ACK!), and he made small talk with me. Once he opened his mouth, though, I noticed he was from England. He had the most adorable accent!! But instead of asking him, "Where are you from??" which I'm sure he's tired of, I just chatted back with him on how lovely the weather's been and how long it's expected to last.

Finally he went off to do something else, and I picked out the best of the zucchini, which wasn't easy to do. I'm not terribly picky about my produce, but every zucchini I picked up looked awfully beat up or it was starting to get all spongy. Not good.

The next thing I know, the English guy is back and asking me if I'm going to make a salad with dinner tonight because there are some tomatoes he needs to get rid of. I said that yes, I did need tomatoes for my recipe, and he goes running off to grab a pack of small tomatoes (larger than cherry tomatoes but not as huge as a beefsteak either) that still had the vine attached. He told me that I could have them free of charge because they were starting to dry out, and he couldn't see selling them for $5 a pack when the quality was starting to go. He scratched out the UPC code, signed his name to the label, and waved to Grace as he went to go find more things to stock.

That surprised me. If the quality of the tomatoes was starting to suffer, why not just mark them down on sale rather than give them away? I'm not complaining... I chalk it up to my amazing beauty as to how I scored free tomatoes!!

OK, I'm kidding. But hey, with the prices that the foo-foo grocery store charges, it was so nice to get the tomatoes FREE!! Saving $5 ain't bad!

They were goooooooooood too. I just had to keep Grace away from them so she would quit bruising the poor things!

Dinner came together more quickly than I had planned. All I had to do was make the pasta, saut� the zucchini (you're supposed to use the bacon grease from when you prepared the bacon, but I used olive oil), and finally chuck the frozen peas, the tomatoes, and the bacon in to warm before you toss with the pasta. Top with a little olive oil and parmesan, and YUMMY!!

I was using my pre-cooked frozen bacon, which simply wouldn't crumble in its frozen state. So I grabbed my kitchen scissors and began to snip the bacon, several strips at a time. That's when I incurred my injury -- I managed to snip the tip of my left index finger.

And boy, you should have seen the blood!! I barely nicked it; it was more like a deep paper cut. But it bled like there was no tomorrow. I quickly wrapped a paper towel around it tightly and kept cooking. Things were going to burn if I didn't!! After a few minutes, it looked like the bleeding had stopped, so I chucked the paper towel and went back to cooking. I needed to get a big bowl out of the garage, and as I was tossing the pasta, I noticed there were big red streaks on the edge of the bowl.

My finger had started to bleed again.

After dinner, which was fantastically good, I might add, I noticed a huge blood stain on my garage door. As I cleaned it off, I hoped there would never be a murder in this house. If crime scene investigators sprayed the house down with luminol, they would see my big blood stain and wonder how that was connected to the scene!!

I guess I watch too many forensic science shows...

Be careful with those scissors, people!!!




previous * next