bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
14 May 2007

What a great Mothers Day
I hope everyone had a fantastic Mother's Day!!

(Sorry, Caroline...)

Anyhoo, my husband went all out this Mother's Day. I was really surprised by what he got me!

On Friday, I got home from hanging out all day with my good friend C when I saw a box at the front door. He'd gotten me flowers!!!

My Mother's Day flowers from Kurt

Tulips are my favorite! I think I get that from my mom's Dutch heritage.

I had also gotten a package in the mail, and thinking it was something I had ordered, I ripped open the envelope to find a beautifully wrapped box. At that point, I figured it was another Mother's Day present from Kurt, so I set it on the kitchen table till Sunday.

What was inside, you ask??

My Mother's Day gift!!

Aren't they pretty??? Kurt gave me pearls one year for our anniversary, and from now on, he's the only one allowed to buy me pearls. I love them, and I like how they're not very expensive (like diamonds)! These are cultured pearls, so the set wasn't a whole lot of money. But I love how they're white, grey, and black pearls all in one necklace and bracelet. He's already gotten me a white pearl necklace and bracelet, so this will be a lovely compliment to it.

And then my friend J wanted to get into the fun as well, so she showed up on my doorstep on Saturday and did this for me:

My friend J planted this as my Mother's Day gift!

I feel kind of bad because I hadn't gotten her anything, but she told me not to worry about it. I should do something nice for her, though. She's been a good friend to me, and I think she deserves it.

Kurt was in port all weekend, so we probably spent at least eight, if not closer to ten, hours on the phone throughout the weekend. (Phone cards are cheap in Panama.) That was the best Mother's Day present of all!!!




previous * next