bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
12 May 2007

Comments back up again
Comments are apparently back up and working, in case you were wondering. ;o)
Gahhhh!!!

(Thank you, BoXx, for your note to me.)

I am seriously thinking about leaving Diaryland, and it's not even Diaryland's fault. But Haloscan just isn't reliable, and I can't justify a SuperGold account just so I can have comment. Plus I don't like D-land comments; I find them very slow and frustrating.

I already have a WordPress account, just so I can keep the same diary name. I'm seriously considering moving there just so I can have commenting on my page that is included and that WORKS!!!

There doesn't seem to be any other external commenting service besides Haloscan. I would be so much happier if I could go to the Haloscan website and see that others were having problems in the forums. But it only seems to be me!! I have checked and rechecked the forums, and some folks are having issues, but no one seems to have the issues I do.

I'm tired of not being able to see my comments, or have them show up on my page and other people's... Right now Haloscan is "down" and will be "right back." The last time something like this happened it was a Norton's issue, so I ended up having to upgrade my Norton's just so I could see my comments again.

I just want my page to work!!! It shouldn't be this hard!

*sigh*

I slept in a little bit this morning, but hey, it's Saturday!!!

Grace woke up at 7.30am, which was just too early for me to even think about waking up. I briefly entertained the idea of hauling myself outta bed at 8, but I convinced myself I could snooze for a few since it was Saturday.

I got up at 8.15am. Definitely a decent time.

I need to take a shower this morning, which is something I never ever do. I always take a shower at night so my hair has time to air dry.

Why didn't I take a shower last night???

Because I knew Kurt was going to call!! YAY!!!!!

And call he did, right at 7.30pm, which is when I would have been in the shower since Miss Grace's bedtime is 8pm. I had not heard his voice in over a month. Every time he'd told me over email that he was coming into a port where he could call, the port visit would be rescheduled.

Having email access and being able to email him all the damn time really helps when he can't call me. I haven't been dying to hear his voice, but it sure was nice last night.

It was so nice to just have a conversation with him. Lately every time we've tried to chat over email, when he's sitting at his computer and I'm sitting at mine, and the emails are almost instantaneous, the email has gone down after just a few minutes. Then I'm sitting at the computer for another 30 minutes waiting for an email from him. The next morning nine emails come through all at once, most of them saying, "Are you still here???"

More exciting news: not only is he flying home from San Diego early, but he is also taking a week of leave (which I didn't realize beforehand). The stand-down period, where only those on duty have to report, will last an entire month, during which he'll only work every 3 days. Granted, he'll work 24 hours when he goes in, but he'll have a day and a half off in between. Once stand-down ends, he'll have maybe one week of going in every single day, and then the best thing in the world happens.

Kurt will report for temporary duty at the base closest to our house.

YAY!!! He won't have an expensive commute to deal with. The ferry prices have gone up for the summer, so it's now $14.45 each way, although the commuter prices bring it down to about $9 each way. It still makes it almost $400 a month just to get him to and from work. And no, the Navy doesn't kick in any money to us because we "chose" to live on the wrong side.

He also won't be commuting for two hours each way. It's only about thirty minutes, max, for him to get to the sub base. And since he's going to be assigned there temporarily, it's not like he's actually going to be doing any work!!! He might be home before noon every day.

It's so nice to look forward to this time with him. I feel so badly for the other wives, though. I think the reason Kurt's temporary duty was approved is because the ship is going back to San Diego for several weeks this summer, right after being gone for six and a half months. I guess this base doesn't understand wanting to keep the morale up of its crewmembers. It doesn't seem to care that the guys just want to spend time with their families.

I got an email from the family support group a couple days ago, saying that we were having a meeting on Saturday (today) where the drawing for First Kiss would occur. The First Kiss winner has her husband come off the ship first, or right after the new dads, I can't remember which. I had to giggle when I read the email, though. I don't have to try to win First Kiss!!! My husband comes home four days early!!!

I am so evil.

Grace got to talk to Kurt last night on the phone. She's talking more and more every day. I know what she's saying because I spend so much time with her. Now I know how mothers can figure out their kids' language!!! Kurt can pick out some words, but he did say, "I'm going to have to learn a whole new language when I get home!" Last night she told him all about going to art class and wandering around downtown with my new friend C and going to Walmart. She LOVES Walmart. We'll get in the car, and she'll say, "Shopping at Walmar?? Walmar???" It's because Walmart has fish tanks, and she loooooooooves fish.

It is going to be so much fun to have Kurt home again. And it's so cool that time is flying by so quickly!!! I have so much scheduled for the next four weeks that I don't know when I'm going to have time to clean my house before Kurt gets home! Anyone want to come over and help me?? *wink*




previous * next