bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
10 May 2007

Not getting anywhere fast
I believe we have started to regress...

I was up late last night chatting with Kurt because the email went down partway through..... again...... but since I tend to fall asleep quickly, it was no big deal. I slept quite well until my alarm started going off at 7.30.

I think that's one of my talents. I sleep like the dead. I very rarely have insomnia. It only hits when I need to get up insanely early for some really important thing, like when we had to get up at 4am to take Kurt to his ship the day they left on deployment. Or when I had to be at my friend's house at 6am to babysit her kids, and she lives an hour south of here.

Generally I am a very good sleeper. Can I put that on a r�sum�?

So I snoozed until 8am, when I heard the little one start to chatter away in her crib. I hauled myself out of bed and asked her, "Do you want to go potty with Mommy??"

Apparently we have regressed. She doesn't even want to sit on the potty. She's gone back to wanting nothing at all to do with it, even with stickers as a reward. Not just any stickers, either, but Sesame Street stickers with ELMO!

Oh well.

I refuse to worry about it. In a way, it's better if she isn't potty trained for the trip so we don't have to deal with "I have to go!!!" every five minutes and have her peeing in her carseat because she can't hold it till the next exit. Even if I train her now, she won't have the muscle ability to hold it that long.

Besides, every kid gets potty-trained eventually. And if someone is going to judge me because my kid is 31 months old and not potty-trained, then I don't want to associate with that person anyhow. Every kid is different.

Last night I managed to remember to put my trash and recyclables out on the curb! Actually we don't have curbs in my neighborhood, just grass fading into asphalt, but you know what I mean. Last week I totally spaced that it was trash day, and I had to put out the bin while still in my nightgown! Then I had to go out in a few minutes still in my jammies (and shoeless -- boy, does gravel HURT one's bare feet) to tell the trash guy to pick up my trash since he'd already gone up the street and was on his way down.

You'd think after four years of living in this house I would know every single Thursday was trash day. You would think!

Today should be fun. The POD (aka, plan of the day) is going to Cabin Fever, having lunch at the bakery, investigating the goods at the used book store, and possibly going to Wally World. I don't really need a whole lot, other than mousse for my hair, so I might leave it until tomorrow since I have to go to town for Grace's art class anyway.

We'll see.

And I have been invited to a Pampered Chef party on Saturday. I am going, even though I'm somewhat nervous about it. I hate going places where I don't know the people who are going. But I won't let it prevent me from going this time. I will go, and I will have fun.

Or it'll kill me. ;o)




previous * next