bluesleepy. Get yours at flagrantdisregard.com/flickr
09 May 2007

Awake before 9am
Two days in a row I've gotten up just after 8am. Shocking, no?? Although last night I didn't do the right thing and stayed up wayyyyyyy too late. I didn't get off the damn computer until after midnight, and my tv watching was completed by 11:15pm!

(Damn Ian Ziering. And how did Joey get into the bottom two??? HUH??? I hate to see Billy Ray go because he is so fun to watch, but really, he just wasn't up to snuff. But then Ian isn't either...)

The computer sucks you in. It does!!!

Yesterday morning when I heard Grace stirring around in her crib (I always know she's awake because she immediately starts talking to herself), I went in and checked her diaper. She was very nearly dry, so I plunked her down in the bathroom, hoping that she would finally do something in her potty. She sat, and sang, and talked, and played, and eventually I had to go get dressed so we could go to playgroup.

After a few minutes, she started crying! I flew back into the bathroom, and she was standing there and pointing at her potty. There was pee in there! So I got all excited and said, "Great job, Gracie!! YAY!!!" She got all excited too, and she earned an Elmo sticker. She loooooooooves stickers.

So this morning I kept snoozing gently until I heard her talking to herself. Again she went on the potty, but this morning... nothing. But then no sticker, either. She was rather perturbed about it, but oh well.

I'm not going to go hard-core into the potty training thing. She's very resistant if you MAKE her do something anyhow. I just want to expose her to it and encourage her.

Besides, we all get potty trained eventually.

Anyhoooooooooooo, on a completely unrelated note, I have been having some disturbing thoughts...

I've been wondering if my new computer should be a Mac!

*gasp*!!!!!!

I know some of my readers are Mac users, and I know how much they absolutely adore their Macs.

The thing is, I was raised by a die-hard IBM user. When a choice came out, my dad went with IBM-compatible machines (isn't it funny that we no longer use that designation??) because there was so much more software for them. I only used Apples in school, and I found them very confusing. I much preferred our IBM-compatible computers at home.

However, whether Windows has been stealing from Macs or Macs have been stealing from Windows (I tend to think it's the former), it seems like using Macs is not that much different from Windows anymore. Of course, there is a learning curve with anything new, but I should be able to figure it out.

Windows is getting frustrating. The software is never fully tested when it becomes available, and you usually have to wait for Service Pack 2 to come out before it's stable enough for your computer. I hate the fact that my computer will slow down, or get hung up, while I'm trying to do something just because Windows has changed something internally that I don't even know about. I just installed Office 2007, and now every time I start up Firefox, it asks me if I want to make it my default browser. Why is Office changing my default browser???

I know Macs are more expensive than Windows machines, but then they seem to last longer. One of the reasons we bought this computer when we did (aside from needing a new one anyhow) is because my old computer's version of IE became corrupted, and I just couldn't do anything on the internet without using back-doors and jerry-rigging. The only way to restore IE is to reformat your computer because it is an integral part of Windows; you cannot remove it. You can hide it, but it cannot be removed. And that's frustrating.

I just wonder if my dad would disown me for buying a Mac. *wink*

PS -- Do you see the ticker?? It changed!!! All by itself!! Now it's counting in DAYS!! Pardon me while I go throw up from excitement.




previous * next